• In 2003, all three championships were held in the same venue for the first time. Baltimore’s M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL Ravens, became the first professional facility to host the event.

• Virginia (Division I), Le Moyne College (Division II) and SUNY Cortland (Division III) were crowned champions the last time Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pa., hosted the championships in 2006.

• Hobart won the first 12 NCAA Division III Championships, dating from 1980-1991. It went on to win one more in 1993, bringing its total to 13 NCAA titles, the most of in the history of DIII Men’s Lacrosse.

• Syracuse’s Gary Gait and Brown’s Oliver Marti hold the record for most goals in a championship game with nine. Gait accomplished the feat in 1988 against Navy, and Marti followed in 1992 versus Loyola Maryland.

• In 2012, Loyola Maryland won its first national title in any sport when it defeated Maryland 9-3 in Foxboro, Mass.

• Mike McDonald of Le Moyne is the only Division II men’s lacrosse player to earn Most Outstanding Player accolades two years in a row (2006 and 2007).

• This year (2013) the NCAA Division II Men’s Lacrosse bracket will expand from four to eight teams.

Championship History
Record Books