CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Fourth-ranked Limestone blanked No.11 Pfeiffer 4-0 in the final quarter and went on to defeat the Falcons, 9-5, in the 2012 Conference Carolinas Championship on Sunday at the Queens Sports Complex at Marion Diehl Park in Charlotte, N.C.  The win gave Limestone a fourth consecutive conference tournament championship and 14h in the last 15 seasons overall.

Limestone improved to 14-1 overall and in the process extended its NCAA Division II South Region win streak to 47 games, which includes a 14-0 mark on the season while Falcons fall to 11-6 and 10-4 within region action.

A trio of juniors helped lead the way offensively for Limestone. Midfielder Tor Reinholdt scored a game-high three goals, earning Tournament Most Outstanding Player honors while specialist Jake Ternosky, the Conference's Player of the Year, won 14-of-18 face-off attempts including 9-of-11 in the second half and grabbed a game best seven ground balls. Midfielder Zach Cummings added one goal and one assist.

Senior attack and 2012 Tewaaraton Award Nominee Shayne Jackson scored two goals and added one assist.

Between the pipes senior Steve Gartelman made 11 saves (5 GAA) with four stops in both the first and third quarters moving to 14-1 on the season.

Defensively, the Saints held Pfeiffer's leading goal scorer to one assist and held the Falcons off the board in two EMO situations.  Senior defenseman Steven Sauser had a team best three caused turnovers.

Limestone held the advantage in ground balls, 24-18, including 18-7 in the second half with Ternosky earning seven for the day.  Shots were even at 30 for each team.

The Saints placed four on the All-Tournament Team, joining Most Outstanding Player Tor Reinholdt were Jake Ternosky, Steve Gartelman and junior midfielder Corey Rich.

Sunday marked the fourth consecutive season that Conference Carolinas has sponsored the sport that the Saints have won the tournament title, adding to one in the then Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference with the others coming as member of the Deep South Conference.