Cortland's Mike Kaminski
Cortland Athletics

CORTLAND, N.Y. -- Senior goalie Mike Kaminski turned aside 14 shots to earn MVP honors as No. 1 Cortland defeated No. 19 Plattsburgh 9-2 on Saturday in the championship game of the 12th annual SUNYAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament. The Red Dragons improved to 17-0 on the season and earned an automatic NCAA playoff berth. The Cardinals, making their first title-game appearance, fell to 14-4.

Eight Red Dragons scored a goal, led by Benjamin Dunlavey with two. Zach Hopps tallied one goal and two assists, and Cody Consul contributed one goal and one assist.

Brandon Mulholland, Matt Rakoczy, Mike Cantelli and Billy Davis and James Stavrakis each scored a goal, while Taylor Mendoza, Joe Slavik and Luke McNaney contributed one assist apiece.

Pat Baldwin won eight of 13 faceoffs and recorded five ground balls, and Brian Winterfeldt also collected five ground balls.

Brendan Damm and James Higgins scored Plattsburgh's goals with James Read registering an assist. Goalie Gordie Gehring made 13 saves.

After Stavrakis and Damm traded goals early in the first quarter, neither team scored again until Dunlavey netted his first at 8:44 of the second quarter. Consul then added a goal 24 seconds later and Cortland led 3-1 at the half. The Red Dragons took control of the game by outscoring the Cardinals 5-0 in the third quarter for an 8-1 lead. Plattsburgh finally broke a scoring drought of 48:55 when Higgins scored at 8:29 of the fourth quarter. Dunlavey finished the scoring with his second goal of the game at the 3:09 mark of the fourth.

Joining Kaminski on the all-tournament team were Consul, Slavik, Baldwin and Craig Sullivan of Cortland, Gehring, Tom Duggan and Nick Parrella of Plattsburgh, Nick Peryea and Brady Fremont of Potsdam, and Jesse Elliott and Keenan Sullivan of Brockport.

Conference Championship Schedule/Results