lacrosse-men-d3 flag

Denison Athletics | April 19, 2014

No. 4 Denison posts first undefeated regular season in 47 years

  Mike Soumekh scored three goals in Denison's win against Hiram.

HIRAM, Ohio -- Fourth-ranked Denison capped off the program's first undefeated regular season since 1967 following a 27-2 victory over Hiram College on Saturday. The win improves Denison's record to 15-0 overall.  It also clinches the programs 15th North Coast Athletic Conference Championship.

Denison got out in front of the Terriers early, scoring nine first quarter goals only to add 12 unanswered tallies in the second period. In all, 15 different Big Red players got in the scoring column as senior attack Mike Soumekh led the way with three goals and four assists while making his first career start. Teddy Powell followed with three goals and two assists while junior Nick Caravana posted a hat trick via six shot attempts.

First-year Will Donohue was Denison's fourth three-goal scorer on the day. Charlie Lippett and Nick Bortolani would both tack on a pair of goals in the win.

Denison won 31 of 33 face-off attempts while outshooting Hiram 62-7 despite taking the foot off the gas down the stretch. The Big Red attempted only five shots in the fourth quarter and did not score over the final 22 minutes of play.

Max Burge was 13-of-14 when facing off and Mike D'Amelio was 14-for-14. Clark Bullington got the start in goal and played 30 minutes. He faced four shots and did not have to make a save. Chris Thomas played the third quarter and Will Nabors closed out with 15 minutes of action in the fourth quarter.

Hiram goalie Sawyer Lott played all 60 minutes and finished with 15 saves.

At 15-0 Denison has tied the school record for wins in a season set in 1982 and 2012. This becomes the third Denison team in school history to run through a regular season with an undefeated record.  The first came in 1963 and the second followed in 1967.

Emory men, Denison women win 2023 DIII swimming and diving championships

The Emory men and Denison women are the 2023 DIII swimming and diving champions.