lacrosse-men-d1 flag

Jared Thompson | | March 15, 2016

College Lacrosse: Denver is the men's team of the week

  Denver's Zach Miller scored 1 minute, 58 seconds into overtime to extend the Pioneers’ win streak to 19 games.

One calendar year removed from their last loss Denver survived a wild fourth-quarter, played into an extra period for the fifth time in their last six meetings with Notre Dame and escaped victorious to take over as the unanimous No. 1 in NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse.

Denver junior Zach Miller scored 1 minute, 58 seconds into overtime against No. 1 Notre Dame at Arlotta Stadium in South Bend, Indiana, to extend the Pioneers’ winning streak to 19 games. Denver’s last loss occurred on March 14, 2015.

Sophomore Trevor Baptiste won 12 of 21 faceoffs, but none more critical than in overtime to give Denver the final possession of the game.

Miller’s goal completed a hat trick and teammate Connor Cannizzaro added one goal and three assists.

"You win a game at Notre Dame, no matter how you win it, you’re thankful and you feel good about it,” Denver head coach Bill Tierney said. “We have to learn from the mistakes we made, especially in the fourth quarter, because you know they are going to be there Memorial Day Weekend.”

Notre Dame scored six unanswered goals in the second half, including four in a span of 43 seconds to take an 8-7 lead with 4:34 to play in regulation. Denver’s Tyler Pace scored with 2:25 to go to knot the score, 8-8. After a stall warning and turnover, Notre Dame had the last chance in regulation; however, Denver’s defense stood firm.

Denver turned over its next possession and Notre Dame had the last chance in regulation. Denver’s defense held firm and sent the game to extra time.

2019-20 CCM/AHCA Division I men's hockey All-Americans announced

Sixteen different NCAA Division I hockey programs were represented on this year's CCM/AHCA Hockey All-American teams. Minnesota Duluth led the way with four honorees, followed by three selections from Minnesota State.

Frozen Four 2020: Dates, schedule for the men's ice hockey championship

Here are the dates and schedule for the 2020 men's ice hockey championship. The 2020 Frozen Four will take place April 9-11 at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan.

Trends we are seeing this February in college hockey, so far

Catch up on all the trends in men's college hockey as we embark into February 2020.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners