lacrosse-men-d3 flag | May 9, 2016

DIII Lacrosse Championship selections announced

DIII Men's Lacrosse: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 32-team tournament.  Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 23 conference champions, which form “Pool A.”  Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

MORE: Full Interactive Bracket

Except for the championship game, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams.  First round competition will be held on Wednesday, May 11 with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Saturday, May 14.  The eight remaining teams will play in the quarterfinals, Wednesday, May 18 and the semifinals will be played Sunday, May 22.

This year’s finalists will advance to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for the championship game at Lincoln Financial Field, which will be played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 29, and shown via web stream on  That game will be followed by the Division II championship at 4 p.m. Eastern time, which can also be seen on  The Division I semifinals and championship are Saturday, May 28 and Monday, May 30 at the same site.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, go to

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

NORTH REGION - Automatic Qualifiers

Commonwealth Coast Conference

Western New Eng. (15-3)

Empire 8

Ithaca (18-1)

Great Northeast Athletic Conference

Emmanuel (MA) (11-8)

Liberty League

RIT (17-1)

Little East Conference

Keene St. (14-3)


Tufts (16 -2)

NEWMAC Lacrosse League

Springfield (11-7)

North Atlantic Conference

New England Col. (13-6)

North Eastern Athletic Conference

Morrisville St. (13-2)

Skyline Conference

Montclair St. (12-6)

State University of New York Athletic Conference

SUNY Cortland (13-5)

SOUTH REGION - Automatic Qualifiers

Capital Athletic Conference

York (PA) (16-3)

Centennial Conference

Gettysburg (14-2)

Colonial States Athletic Conference

Cabrini (14-4)

Landmark Conference

Catholic (11-6)

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Albion (13-4)

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth

Stevenson (15-4)

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom

Eastern (14-5)

Midwest Lacrosse Conference

Aurora (16-2)

North Coast Athletic Conference

Denison (16-1)

Ohio Athletic Conference

John Carroll (12-5)

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Wash. & Lee (15-3)

Southern Athletic Association

Sewanee (12-3)

Pool B Selections:

Carthage (9-9)

Colorado Col. (11-4)

Whittier (8-5)

Pool C Selections:

Amherst (12-4)

Middlebury (12-6)

Lynchburg (12-8)

Rensselaer (13-4)

Salisbury (18-1)

St. Lawrence (15-2