lacrosse-men-d1 flag | June 2, 2016

Molloy, Cummings winners of 2016 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Brown University attackman Dylan Molloy and University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings as the winners of the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

Dylan Molloy, the catalyst of the nation’s top-ranked offense, led the country with 116 points, 54 assists and 6.44 points per game as Brown returned to the Final Four for the first time since 1994. The junior first team All-American from Setauket, N.Y., registered five or more points in15 of 18 contests, helping the Bears to a school-record 16 wins and the Ivy League regular-season title. Molloy won his second consecutive Ivy League Player of the Year award and is the sixth player in NCAA history to post at least 50 goals and 50 assists in a single season.

The nation’s active leading scorer with 247 points, his 116 points this season rank fourth in NCAA history, trailing only former Tewaaraton winners Lyle Thompson (128 in 2014, 121 in ’15) and Miles Thompson (119 in ’14).

Earlier this week, Molloy earned the USILA Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player Award and the Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Outstanding Attackman Award. He is Brown’s first Tewaaraton finalist and winner, and the first winner from the Ivy League since Cornell’s Rob Pannell in 2013.

Taylor Cummings is the first player—man or woman — to win three Tewaaraton Awards. The senior and two-time defending award winner from Ellicott City, Md., was named Big Ten

Midfielder of the Year and Big Ten Tournament MVP as Maryland took home the conference’s regular-season and tournament titles, and advanced to an eighth consecutive Final Four. One of the most decorated players in NCAA history,

Cummings quarterbacked the nation’s top-scoring offense with a team-best 79 points, and was also the top Terrapin with 61ground balls, 140 draw controls and 52 caused turnovers. Her per-game averages for ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers all led the Big Ten. The four-time first-team IWLCA All-American lifted her team to a fourth national championship game appearance in as many seasons in College Park. Cummings is one of four women’s players to win the Tewaaraton Award in consecutive seasons, along with Northwestern’s Kristen Kjellman (2006, 2007)and Hannah Nielsen (2008, 2009) and Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann (2012, 2013). She is Maryland’s seventh Tewaaraton winner. Maryland players have won six of the last seven women’s Tewaaraton Awards.

“We are proud to recognize these wonderful individuals who represent our Award and the sport so well,”said Jeffrey T. Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “Dylan stood out with his incredible play and leadership bringing Brown back to the Final Four. Taylor has set such a high standard and it cannot be understated the significance of her becoming the first three-time recipient."

Top 10 Final Four dark horses in the 2023-24 men's college basketball season, according to Andy Katz

Here are 10 dark horses to make the 2024 Final Four according to Andy Katz.

The college wrestling fan’s guide to the 2023 Senior World Championships

Here's what you need to know about the current and former college wrestlers competing in the 2023 Senior World Wrestling Championships from September 16-24, 2023.

No. 7 Maryland moves on to the Big Ten title game with 14-9 win over No. 5 Johns Hopkins

No. 7 Maryland men's lacrosse defeated No. 5 Johns Hopkins 14-9 to advance to the Big Ten title game.