lacrosse-men-d1 flag

The Tewaarton Award | March 1, 2017

Tewaarton Award watch lists announced

  Brown's Dylan Molloy won the 2016 Tewaarton Award.

NEW YORK -- The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2017 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s watch lists. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

Among the 2017 watch list returnees are former finalists Connor Cannizzaro (Denver), Ben Reeves (Yale) and 2016 Tewaaraton winner Dylan Molloy (Brown) on the men’s side.

“It’s going to be another exciting year, our 17th for the Tewaaraton Award,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “On one hand we have our 2016 men’s winner in Dylan Molloy returning, and on the women’s side, Taylor Cummings has graduated after winning a record three straight. We can’t wait to see who emerges this year and gets invited to Washington, D.C. in early June.”

The Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

The 50 men’s and 50 women’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted:

Men’s Watch List:
Jack Adams, Towson - Sr., Short Stick Defensive Midfield
Nick Aponte, Penn State - Sr., Attack
Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Jr., Faceoff
Jack Bruckner, Duke - Sr., Attack
Christian Burgdorf, Denver - Sr., Defense
Colin Burke, Fairfield - Soph., Attack
Josh Byrne, Hofstra - Sr., Attack
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver - Sr., Attack
Morgan Cheek, Harvard - Jr., Attack
Isaiah Davis Allen, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Cal Dearth, Boston - Sr., Midfield
Shane Doss, Notre Dame - Sr., Goalie
Ryan Drenner, Towson - Sr., Attack
Chris Fennell, Navy - Sr., Defense
Connor Fields, Albany - Jr., Attack
Nick Fields, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Defense
Jake Froccaro, Villanova - Sr., Midfield
Justin Guterding, Duke - Jr., Attack
Colin Heacock, Maryland - Sr., Attack
Jules Heningburg, Rutgers - Jr., Attack
Cole Johnson, Army West Point - Sr., Attack
Connor Keating, Penn - Jr., Long Stick Midfield
Stephen Kelly, North Carolina - Sr., Faceoff
Larken Kemp, Brown - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Ian King, Michigan - Sr., Attack
Nick Mariano, Syracuse - Sr., Midfield
Simon Mathias, Penn - Soph., Attack
Ryan McNamara, Marquette - Sr., Attack
Cam Milligan, Vermont - Sr., Attack
Dylan Molloy, Brown - Sr., Attack
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame - Sr., Midfield
Austin Pifani, North Carolina - Sr., Defense
Benny Pugh, Richmond - Sr., Goalie
Matt Rambo, Maryland - Sr., Attack
Ryland Rees, Stony Brook - Soph., Long Stick Midfield
Ben Reeves, Yale - Jr., Attack
Kevin Reisman, Limestone - Sr., Midfield
Sergio Salcido, Syracuse - Sr., Midfield
Will Sands, Bucknell - Jr., Attack
Eric Scott, Yale - Sr., Midfield
John Sexton, Notre Dame - Jr., Long Stick Midfield
Brian Sherlock, Loyola - Sr., Midfield
Patrick Spencer, Loyola - Soph., Attack
Shack Stanwick, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Attack
Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Midfield
Alec Tulett, Brown - Sr., Defense
Chris Walsch, Air Force - Jr., Attack
Zed Williams, Virginia - Sr., Attack
Ben Williams, Syracuse - Sr., Faceoff
Mikey Wynne, Notre Dame - Jr., Attack

Women’s Watch List:
Sam Apuzzo , Boston College - Soph., Attack
Kasey Behr, Virginia - Jr., Midfield
Maggie Bill, North Carolina - Jr., Midfield
Taylor Bresnahan, Florida - Sr., Defense
Sammi Burgess, Florida - Sr., Attack
Madison Carter, Penn State - Soph., Attack
Alex Condon, Penn - Jr., Midfield
Maddie Crutchfield, Duke - Jr., Midfield
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton - Sr., Goalie
Riley Donahue, Syracuse - Jr., Attack
Christina Esposito, Northwestern - Redshirt Sr., Attack
Erica Evans, Canisius College - Jr., Midfield
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida - Sr., Defense
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame - Sr., Attack
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland - Sr., Defense
Kyra Harney, Duke - Jr., Attack
Molly Hendrick, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Olivia Hompe, Princeton - Sr., Attack
Gussie Johns, USC - Jr., Goalie
Kenzie Kent, Boston College - Jr., Attack
Emily Kenul, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Attack
Darby Kiernan, Colorado - Jr., Attack
Selena Lasota, Northwestern - Jr., Attack
Steph Lazo, Penn State - Sr., Attack
Nicole Levy, Syracuse - Soph., Attack
Sarah Martin, Albany - Sr., Midfield
Bailey Mathis, Loyola - Sr., Defense
Marie McCool, North Carolina - Jr., Midfield
Michaela Michael, USC - Sr., Attack
Kaitlyn Montalbano, Towson - Jr., Midfield
Courtney Murphy, Stony Brook - Sr., Attack
Hannah Murphy, Massachusetts - Sr., Midfield
Kelsey Murray, Stanford - Redshirt Jr., Attack
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook - Jr., Attack
Casey Pearsall, Notre Dame - Sr., Midfield
Shayna Pirreca, Florida - Jr., Attack
Carly Reed, North Carolina - Sr., Midfield
Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida - Soph., Attack
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Midfield
Maura Schwitter, Duke - Sr., Defense
Catie Smith, Cornell - Sr., Defense
Abby Smucker, Penn State - Sr., Midfield
Paige Soenksen, Colorado - Sr., Goalie
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Lydia Sutton, USC - Jr., Defense
Sammy Jo Tracy, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook - Sr., Midfield
Haley Warden, James Madison - Jr., Midfield
Caylee Waters, North Carolina - Sr., Goalie
Megan Whittle, Maryland - Jr., Attack

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 16 and April 6. On April 27, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 11 and invited to the ceremony. The 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on June 1.

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

DII men's lacrosse championship: How to watch, preview and prediction

Mercyhurst and Lenoir-Rhyne will face off in the DII men's lacrosse championship game on May 28. Wayne Cavadi breaks down the matchup and takes a guess on who will win.

Jim Brown, Syracuse football and lacrosse star turned NFL legend, passes away

Syracuse and National Football League legend Jim Brown passed away today May 19, 2023.