lacrosse-men-d1 flag

The Tewaarton Award | April 28, 2017

Foundation releases 25 men's and women's nominees for 2017 Tewaaraton Award

  Brown's Dylan Molloy, last year's Tewaaraton winner, was named as a nominee for the 2017 award.

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

RELATED: Everything you need to know about the Tewaaraton Award

“This is a remarkable accomplishment for these student-athletes,” said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “The Foundation and its board congratulates these talented players and their respective teams for being recognized by the Selection Committees as Tewaaraton Nominees.”

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, announced on Thursday, May 11, and invited to the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, June 1 in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 17 different schools, including 2016 winner Dylan Molloy (Brown) and finalists Connor Cannizzaro (Denver) and Ben Reeves (Yale). In all, eight players return from last year’s list of nominees. 

The 25 men’s nominees
Player School Year Position
Nick Aponte Penn State Sr. Attack
Trevor Baptiste Denver Jr. Face-off
Jack Bruckner Duke Sr. Attack
Josh Byrne Hofstra Sr. Attack
Connor Cannizzaro Denver Sr. Attack
Jack Concannon Hofstra Jr. Goalie
Zach Currier Princeton Sr. Midfield
Connor Fields Albany Jr. Attack
Nick Fields Johns Hopkins Sr. Defense
Jake Froccaro Villanova Sr. Midfield
Justin Guterding Duke Jr. Attack
Colin Heacock Maryland Sr. Attack
Nick Mariano Syracuse Sr. Midfield
Dylan Molloy Brown Sr. Attack
Sergio Perkovic Notre Dame Sr. Midfield
Benny Pugh Richmond Sr. Goalie
Matt Rambo Maryland Sr. Attack
Ben Reeves Yale Jr. Attack
Sergio Salcido Syracuse Sr. Midfield
John Sexton Notre Dame Jr. Long Stick Midfield
Michael Sowers Princeton Fr. Attack
Patrick Spencer Loyola Soph. Attack
Joel Tinney Johns Hopkins Jr. Midfield
Zed Williams Virginia Sr. Attack
Jake Withers Ohio State Sr. Face-off

This year’s list of women’s nominees features players from 15 different schools, led by the University of Maryland’s four and University of Florida’s three. Ten players return from the 2016 Tewaaraton list of nominees. 

The 25 women’s nominees
Player School Year Position
Sam Apuzzo Boston College Soph. Attack
Sammi Burgess Florida Sr. Attack
Madison Carter Penn State Soph. Attack
Alex Condon Penn Jr. Midfield
Ellie DeGarmo Princeton Sr. Goalie
Riley Donahue Syracuse Jr. Attack
Erica Evans Canisius Jr. Midfield
Caroline Fitzgerald Florida Sr. Defense
Cortney Fortunato Notre Dame Sr. Attack
Nadine Hadnagy Maryland Sr. Defense
Molly Hendrick North Carolina Sr. Attack
Olivia Hompe Princeton Sr. Attack
Darby Kiernan Colorado Jr. Attack
Steph Lazo Penn State Sr. Attack
Sarah Martin Albany Sr. Midfield
Marie McCool North Carolina Jr. Midfield
Michaela Michael USC Sr. Attack
Kylie Ohlmiller Stony Brook Jr. Attack
Catie Smith Cornell Sr. Defense
Paige Soenksen Colorado Sr. Goalie
Mollie Stevens Florida Sr. Attack
Zoe Stukenberg Maryland Sr. Midfield
Megan Taylor Maryland Soph. Goalie
Dorrien Van Dyke Stony Brook Sr. Midfield
Megan Whittle Maryland Jr. Attack

This year’s initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced, on March 16 and April 6.

2022 NCAA lacrosse bracket: Scores, schedule, for the DI men's championship

Here is the official printable bracket for the 2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse tournament, which begins May 11 and will crown a champion in East Hartford, Conn. on May 30. 

Watch: The must-see top goals from Round 1 of the NCAA men's lacrosse tournament

The first round of the 2022 NCAA men's lacrosse tournament featured some incredible goals, including full-field heaves, behind-the-back shots and last-second game-winners. Watch some of the top ones here.

2022 NCAA DIII men's lacrosse championship selections

The selections for the 2022 NCAA DIII men's lacrosse championship have been announced.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners