lacrosse-men-d1 flag

Maryland Athletics | June 2, 2017

Maryland sweeps the 2017 Tewaaraton Awards

  For the first time in Tewaaraton award history, Maryland players took home both the men's and women's award.

WASHINGTON – Attackman Matt Rambo and midfielder Zoe Stukenberg were named recipients of the prestigious Tewaaraton Award on Thursday at the National Museum of the American Indian.

Rambo is Maryland's first male recipient of the Tewaaraton. Stukenberg is the sixth straight Terp to earn the honor and the eighth female recipient from Maryland in the history of the award.

RELATED: Everything you need to know about the Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Award, in its 17th year, annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. This is the first time in the history of the award that both recipients come from the same institution.

Rambo and Stukenberg led the men's and women's lacrosse programs to the 2017 NCAA Championships. The men's team won their first national championship since 1975 while the women's team competed its season at 23-0.

“I'm very proud of Zoe and Matt for earning this prestigious honor,” director of athletics Kevin Anderson said. “These seniors are selfless leaders who have always put their team first. Zoe and Matt both played pivotal roles in winning national championships last weekend, and to see them honored at the highest level is truly a remarkable accomplishment.”

An IMLCA First Team All-American, Rambo earned the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the nation's most outstanding player. This season, the Glenside, Pa., native became Maryland's all-time points leader and all-time goals leader. Rambo also became the first-ever Terp to reach 40 goals and 40 assists in the same season. He was named a unanimous First Team All-Big Ten selection and the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.

"I would like to congraduate Matt on this award," head coach John Tillman said. "This is the culmination of a lot of hard work by Matt and the support of his teammates and family."

“I'm proud of how hard Matt has worked in his time in College Park,” Anderson said. “For him to be graduate, lead his team to a national championship and be recognized as the top player in his sport is a testament to his effort and leadership.”

Stukenberg earned IWLCA First Team All-America honors this season while leading Maryland to its 14th national title. She was named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year after being unanimously named to the All-Big Ten team. The Ellicott City, Md., native ranked in the top three of every statistical category on the team, including 53 goals, 31 assists, 84 points, 48 ground balls, 74 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers. Stukenberg graduated with a 4.0 grade-point average in biological sciences, and earned her third Elite 90 Award as the student-athlete with the highest GPA at the NCAA Championship.

“Zoe has been a consummate leader and is an extremely well-rounded individual,” Anderson said. “She is an outstanding student and has earned accolades for her performances both in the classroom and on the field. Zoe is truly a special person, and it has been an honor to watch her grow in her time as a Terp.”

“Zoe is such a special person,” head coach Cathy Reese said. “She works so hard in everything that she does, and has such an incredible, infectious attitude. It's been an honor to coach Zoe these past four years, and I'm so proud of her for earning this honor.”

Maryland defender Nadine Hadnagy was also a finalist for the Tewaaraton.

7 players who can impact the race to the women's basketball Final Four

When the 2020 NCAA women’s basketball tournament begins next month, there will be a handful of players who rise above the rest. These are the players who can impact the race to the Final Four.

30 candidates named to Naismith Trophy women's basketball Player of the Year midseason team

With the midseason mark here and everyone's sights set on finishing the season strong, the Atlanta Tipoff Club has announced its 30-player midseason team for the Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year.

Maryland earns women's basketball team of the week honors

Maryland was named NCAA women's basketball team of the week after winning nine games in a row.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners