lacrosse-men-d1 flag

The Tewaaraton Award | March 1, 2018

Tewaaraton Award announces 2018 men's and women's watch lists

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2018 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s watch lists. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award.

Among the 2018 watch list returnees are 2017 finalists Marie McCool (UNC), Kylie Ohlmiller (Stony Brook), Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale), Pat Spencer (Loyola).

“Six of ten finalists return and this year, as always, will be a wide open and competitive race for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “The 100 players are deserving of being on our first Tewaaraton Watch Lists of the season. Our selection committees have as broad a field to choose from as we’ve ever had.”

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and areappointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

The 50 men’s and 50 women’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted:

Men's watch list:

Name School Year Position
Dox Aitken Virginia Sophomore Midfield
Dylan Alderman Hofstra Senior Midfield
Grant Ament Penn State Junior Attack
Trevor Baptiste Denver Senior Faceoff
Jared Bernhardt Maryland Sophomore Attack
Brendan Bomberry Syracuse Senior Attack
Tate Boyce Providence Junior Goalie
Dan Bucaro Georgetown Junior Attack
Morgan Cheek Harvard Senior Attack
Chris Cloutier North Carolina Senior Attack
Jack Concannon Hofstra Senior Goalie
Ryan Conrad Virginia Junior Midfield
Brian Corrigan Marist Redshirt-Senior Goalie
Bryan Costabile Notre Dame Sophomore Midfield
Christian Cuccinello Villanova Senior Attack
Connor Fields Albany Senior Attack
Zach Goodrich Towson Junior Midfield
Phil Goss Brown Sophomore Goalie
Justin Guterding Duke Senior Attack
Jule Heningburg Rutgers Senior Attack
TD Ierlan Albany Sophomore Faceoff
Chris Keating Yale Senior Defense
Connor Keating Penn Senior Long Stick Midfield
Connor Kelly Maryland Senior Midfield
Tom Kennedy Bryant Senior Midfield
Tre Leclaire Ohio State Sophomore Attack
Ian Mackay Vermont Senior Midfield
Simon Mathias Penn Junior Attack
Sean Mayle Denver Senior Long Stick Midfield
Nick Mellen Syracuse Redshirt-Sophomore Defense
Brent Noseworthy Michigan Junior Midfield
Isaac Paparo Massachusetts Junior Defense
Ben Randall Ohio State Senior Defense
Casey Rees Navy Senior Midfield
Ryland Rees Stony Brook Junior Defense
Ben Reeves Yale Senior Attack
Will Sands Bucknell Senior Attack
John Sexton Notre Dame Senior Long Stick Midfield
Nate Solomon Syracuse Junior Attack
Michael Sowers Princeton Sophomore Attack
Pat Spencer Loyola Junior Attack
John Surdick Army Junior Defense
David Symmes Army Senior Midfield
Jeff Teat Cornell Sophomore Attack
Joel Tinney Johns Hopkins Senior Midfield
Greyson Torain Navy Junior Midfield
Kyle Tucker Salisbury Senior Defense
Cade Van Raaphorst Duke Junior Defense
Ethan Walker Denver Sophomore Attack
Jack Wilson Boston University Senior Attack

Women's watch list:
Sam Apuzzo Boston College Junior Attack
Dempsey Arsenault Boston College Junior Midfield
Stephanie Asher Elon Senior Attack
Kasey Behr Virginia Senior Midfield
Julia Braig Maryland Junior Defense
Sarah Brown Colorado Senior Defense
Madison Carter Penn State Junior Attack
Jenna Collins Navy Senior Midfield
Alex Condon Penn Senior Midfield
Olivia Conti Towson Sophomore Defense
Maddie Crutchfield Duke Senior Midfield
Riley Donahue Syracuse Senior Attack
Kristen Gaudian James Madison Senior Attack
Elizabeth George Princeton Junior Midfield
Samantha Giacolone Notre Dame Junior Goalie
Jen Giles Maryland Junior Midfield
Ela Hazar North Carolina Senior Attack
Haley Hicklen Florida Junior Goalie
Maggie Jackson Virginia Junior Midfield
Olivia Jenner Duke Junior Attack
Gussie Johns Southern California Senior Goalie
Katy Junior Penn Junior Defense
Kenzie Kent Boston College Senior Attack
Emily Kenul Johns Hopkins Senior Attack
Darby Kiernan Colorado Senior Attack
Kelly Larkin Navy Sophomore Attack
Selena Lasota Northwestern Junior Attack
Nicole Levy Syracuse Junior Attack
Marie McCool North Carolina Senior Midfield
Elizabeth Miller Boston College Junior Defense
Elizabeth Morrison TCNJ Senior Defense
Courtney Murphy Stony Brook Redshirt Senior Attack
Sheila Nesselbush Northwestern Senior Midfield
Katie O'Donnell Penn State Senior Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller Stony Brook Senior Attack
Taryn Ohlmiller Stony Brook Sophomore Attack
Sydney Pirreca Florida Junior Midfield
Shayna Pirreca Florida Senior Attack
Elena Romesburg James Madison Senior Midfield
Lindsey Ronbeck Florida Junior Attack
Michele Scannell Adelphi Senior Midfield
Caroline Steele Maryland Junior Attack
Camille Sullivan Princeton Senior Midfield
Lydia Sutton Southern California Senior Defense
Megan Taylor Maryland Junior Goalie
Rachel VanderKolk Virginia Senior Goalie
Taylor VanThof Loyola Junior Midfield
Natalie Wallon Syracuse Junior Midfield
Haley Warden James Madison Senior Midfield
Megan Whittle Maryland Senior Attack
Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 22 and April 5. On April 26, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 31.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

DII men's lacrosse championship: How to watch, preview and prediction

Mercyhurst and Lenoir-Rhyne will face off in the DII men's lacrosse championship game on May 28. Wayne Cavadi breaks down the matchup and takes a guess on who will win.

Jim Brown, Syracuse football and lacrosse star turned NFL legend, passes away

Syracuse and National Football League legend Jim Brown passed away today May 19, 2023.