lacrosse-men-d1 flag

Maryland Athletics | April 15, 2018

No. 1 Maryland holds off Rutgers in huge B1G showdown

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Senior Connor Kelly totaled eight points on four goals and four assists to lead the No. 1 Maryland men’s lacrosse team to an 11-10 victory over No. 7 Rutgers in rainy conditions Sunday afternoon at Capital One Field at Maryland Stadium.

The red-hot Kelly now has 15 points over his last two games, and became just the third Terrapin since 2000 to total 60 points in a single-season (Matt Rambo, Joe Walters).

The win ensured Maryland (10-1, 3-0) its NCAA-best 16th consecutive 10-win season, as it took sole possession of first place in the Big Ten Conference standings. The Terps also clinched a berth in the Big Ten tournament, which will be hosted by Michigan.

Senior goalkeeper Dan Morris finished with 10 saves while junior Austin Henningsen won 4-of-6 fourth quarter faceoffs.

Trailing 9-8 with less than five minutes to play, a three-goal outburst in a span of 1:20 was the difference as the Terps took an 11-9 lead and held on for the win.

MORE LAX: Cuse rallies to beat UNC in OT, earns ACC regular season title

Redshirt freshman Anthony DeMaio and senior Tim Rotanz each scored their lone goals of the game to open the run, before Kelly gave the Terps a two-goal lead with 3:21 remaining.

The Terps uncharacteristically committed eight penalties in the game, but the man-down unit answered the call allowing just one goal.

Maryland stormed out of the gates to take a four-goal lead after the first quarter break. Kelly had a hand in all of Maryland’s first five goals, including a pair of man-up assist to Jared Bernhardt.

Rutgers (8-4, 1-2) responded, however, scoring four straight goals of its own to tie the game, 5-5, entering halftime.

The Scarlet Knights twice took leads in the second half, but Maryland never wavered as it came back for victory.

Maryland returns to action next weekend for “Senior Day” when it takes on Ohio State in a rematch of the 2017 NCAA  hampionship game. The game is set for 2 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Charlotte North and Jared Bernhardt win 2021 Tewaaraton Award

Boston College attacker Charlotte North and University of Maryland attackman Jared Bernhardt are the women’s and men’s winners of the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

10 men's basketball programs who were big winners after a flurry of roster moves

Here are Andy Katz's top 10 winners, based on which players returned from the portal to their previous school, which schools added a talented player or two from the portal and which players elected to return to school rather than declare for the NBA draft.

The 10 most outstanding players in the NCAA tournament since 2000, ranked

The 10 best Final Four Most Outstanding Players since 2000, ranked by's Andy Katz.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners