lacrosse-men-d1 flag

The Tewaaraton Award | April 26, 2018

The Tewaaraton Award 25 men's and 25 women's 2018 nominees

College Lacrosse | Top Plays

WASHINGTON, April 26 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

“This is a remarkable accomplishment for these student-athletes,” said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “The Foundation and its board congratulates these talented players and their respective teams for being recognized by the Selection Committees as Tewaaraton Nominees."

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, announced on Thursday, May 10 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, May 31 in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 20 different schools, including 2017 finalists Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale), and Pat Spencer (Loyola). In all, 9 players return from last year’s list of nominees.

This year’s list of women’s nominees features players from 15 different schools, led by  Boston College, University of Maryland, and Northwestern with three a piece. Returning this year are  2017 finalists Marie McCool (North Carolina) and Kylie Ohmiller (Stony Brook). In all, six players return from the 2017 list of nominees.

Here is the lisf of the 25 men's and women’s nominees:

Men's Nominees
Name School Year Position
Dox Aitken Virginia Soph. Midfield
Gerard Arceri Penn State Soph. Faceoff
Trevor Baptiste Denver Sr. Faceoff
Jared Bernhardt Maryland Soph. Attack
Dan Bucaro Georgetown Jr. Attack
Jack Concannon Hofstra Sr. Goalie
Christian Cuccinello Villanova Sr. Attack
Connor Fields Albany Sr. Attack
Zach Goodrich Towson Jr. Midfield
Justin Guterding Duke Sr. Attack
Jules Heningburg Rutgers Sr. Attack
Foster Huggins Loyola Sr. Defense
TD Ierlan Albany Soph. Faceoff
Connor Kelly Maryland Sr. Midfield
Michael Kraus Virginia Soph. Attack
Ian Mackay Vermont Sr. Midfield
Ben Randall Ohio State Sr. Defense
Ben Reeves Yale Sr. Attack
Will Sands Bucknell Sr. Attack
John Sexton Notre Dame Sr. Long Stick Midfield
Michael Sowers Princeton Soph. Attack
Pat Spencer Loyola Jr. Attack
Jeff Teat Cornell Soph. Attack
Joel Tinney Johns Hopkins Sr. Midfield
Ethan Walker Denver Soph. Attack
Women's Nominees
Name School Year Position
Sam Apuzzo Boston College Jr. Attack
Dempsey Arsenault Boston College Jr. Midfield
Kasey Behr Virginia Sr. Midfield
Julia Braig Maryland Jr. Defense
Jenna Collins Navy Sr. Midfield
Olivia Conti Towson Soph. Defense
Shelby Frederick Northwestern Sr. Attack
Kristen Gaudian James Madison Sr. Attack
Haley Hicklen Florida Jr. Goalie
Darby Kiernan Colorado Sr. Attack
Selena Lasota Northwestern Jr. Attack
Julia Lisella Colorado Jr. Goalie
Marie McCool North Carolina Sr. Midfield
Elizabeth Miller Boston College Jr. Defense
Courtney Murphy Stony Brook R-Sr. Attack
Kelsey Murray Stanford R-Sr. Attack
Sheila Nesselbush Northwestern Sr. Midfield
Katie O'Donnell Penn State Sr. Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller Stony Brook Sr. Attack
Lindsey Ronbeck Florida Jr. Attack
Gabby Rosenzweig Penn Soph Attack
Megan Taylor Maryland Jr. Goalie
Taylor VanThof Loyola Jr. Midfield
Haley Warden James Madison Sr. Midfield
Megan Whittle Maryland Sr. Attack

This year’s initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced on March 1 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced, on March 22 and April 12.

The five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on Thursday, May 10 at a special reception at the University Club of Washington, DC. For information on attended this exciting event, please visit

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, how to donate to this non-profit or to attend this year’s May 31 ceremony, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

DII men's lacrosse championship: How to watch, preview and prediction

Mercyhurst and Lenoir-Rhyne will face off in the DII men's lacrosse championship game on May 28. Wayne Cavadi breaks down the matchup and takes a guess on who will win.

Jim Brown, Syracuse football and lacrosse star turned NFL legend, passes away

Syracuse and National Football League legend Jim Brown passed away today May 19, 2023.