lacrosse-men-d1 flag | May 10, 2018

2018 DI Men’s Lacrosse Championship selections announced

Andy Katz DI Men's Lacrosse bracket breakdown

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

RELATED: Top freshman this season | Plays of the week

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

Conference School
America East Conference Albany (NY)
Big East Conference Georgetown
Big Ten Conference Johns Hopkins
Colonial Athletic Conference Massachusetts
The Ivy League Cornell
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Canisius
Northeast Conference Robert Morris
Patriot League Loyola Maryland
Southern Conference Richmond

The remainder of the field was selected at large: Denver, Duke, Maryland, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Villanova, Virginia, Yale.

The opening round game between Canisius and Robert Morris will take place Wednesday, May 9 in Buffalo, New York. The eight, first-round contests will be held the weekend of May 12-13.

RELATED: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket | How to watch

Maryland received the No. 1 overall seed and will face the winner of the Canisius and Robert Morris opening round game, May 13 at Noon Eastern. No. 2 seed Albany (New York) will host Richmond May 12 at 5 p.m. Eastern. Yale, the No. 3 seed, will host Massachusetts May 12 at Noon Eastern. Duke is the No. 4 seed and will host Villanova May 12 at 2:15 p.m. Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Johns Hopkins will host Georgetown May 13 at 5 p.m. Eastern. As the No. 6 seed, Loyola Maryland will host Virginia May 12 at 7:15 p.m. Eastern. No. 7 Notre Dame will host Denver May 13 at 2:15 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed Syracuse will host Cornell May 13 at 7:15 p.m. Eastern.

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will all be televised on ESPNU on May 19 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York or Navy Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland on May 20. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Massachusetts, May 26-28 and hosted by Harvard University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern time, May 26. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 28.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit

Everything to know about Jared Bernhardt, former Maryland lacrosse and DII football star

Former Maryland lacrosse phenom turned DII quarterback, Jared Bernhardt broke out on the NFL stage in Week 1 of the 2022 preseason and has officially cracked the Falcons' initial 53-man roster.

Tewaaraton Award: History of the college lacrosse honor

Here is the background and list of winners of the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the best individual player in NCAA men's and women's lacrosse.

2022 NCAA lacrosse bracket: Scores, schedule, for the DI men's championship

Here is the official printable bracket for the 2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse tournament, which begins May 11 and will crown a champion in East Hartford, Conn. on May 30. 

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners