lacrosse-men-d3 flag | May 6, 2018

2018 DIII Men's Lacrosse Championship selections announced

DIII Men's Lacrosse: 2018 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 36-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 25 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” Two teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

RELATED: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket

Except for the championship game, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams. First round competition will be held on Tuesday, May 8 with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Wednesday, May 9. The 16 remaining teams will play in the third round on Saturday, May 12. The quarterfinals will take place on Wednesday, May 16 and the semifinals will be played Sunday, May 20.

This year’s finalists will advance to Foxborough, Mass. for the championship game at Gillette Stadium, which will be played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 27, and shown via web stream on That game will be followed by the Division II championship at 4 p.m. Eastern time, which can also be seen on The Division I semifinals and championship are Saturday, May 26 and Monday, May 28 at the same site.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, go to

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

North Region

Conference School
Commonwealth Coast Conference Western New England (13-6)
Empire 8 Stevens (17-2)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (RI) (9-11)
Liberty League RIT (18-0)
Little East Conference Keene State (12-4)
NESCAC Tufts (16-1)
NEWMAC Springfield (13-5)
North Atlantic Conference New England College (15-4)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Morrisville State (11-7)
Skyline Conference Merchant Marine (13-2)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland (12-6)

South Region

Conference School
Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury (16-3)
Centennial Conference Dickinson (15-3)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini (16-2)
Landmark Conference Elizabethtown (9-9)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Albion (10-7)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Stevenson (12-6)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Eastern (12-6)
Midwest Lacrosse Conference Aurora (19-1)
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison (15-3)
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (13-4)
Ohio River Men's Lacrosse Conference Transylvania (12-6)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg (12-8)
Southern Athletic Association Rhodes (13-2)
USA South Athletic Conference Huntingdon (16-2)
Pool B Selections
Colorado College (13-1)
Illinois Wesleyan (16-3)
Pool C Selections
Amherst (14-3)
Christopher Newport (14-4)
Gettysburg (16-2)
Ithaca (15-3)
Ohio Wesleyan (15-3)
Roanoke (14-5)
Washington & Lee (14-4)
Wesleyan (CT) (14-3)
York (PA) (17-2)