lacrosse-men-d1 flag | May 9, 2021

2021 NCAA Division I men's lacrosse championship selections

2021 NCAA DI men's lacrosse championship selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

Conference representative
America East Conference Vermont
Big East Conference Georgetown
Big Ten Conference Maryland
Colonial Athletic Association Drexel
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth
Northeast Conference Bryant
Patriot League Lehigh
Southern Conference High Point

The remainder of the field was selected at large: Denver, Duke, Loyola Maryland, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Rutgers, Syracuse, Virginia.

The eight, first-round contests will be held the weekend of May 15-16 on the campuses of Denver, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia.

LIVE UPDATES: Follow our coverage of the 2021 DI men's lacrosse championship

North Carolina received the No. 1 overall seed and will host Monmouth, May 15 at Noon Eastern. No. 2 seed Duke will play High Point on May 16 at 5 p.m. Eastern in Chapel Hill, N.C. Maryland, the No. 3 seed, will host Vermont May 16 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. Virginia is the No. 4 seed and will host Bryant May 16 at Noon Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Georgetown Hoyas will play Syracuse May 15 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in College Park, Md. As the No. 6 seed, Notre Dame will play Drexel May 15 at Denver’s Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium at 5 p.m. Eastern in Denver. No. 7 Denver will host Loyola Maryland May 16 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed Lehigh will play Rutgers May 15 at 2:30 Eastern in Charlottesville, Va. at Klockner Stadium.

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will all be televised on ESPNU on May 22 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York and May 23 at Arlotta Family Lacrosse Stadium in South Bend, Ind. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Pratt and Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn., May 29-31 and hosted by Fairfield University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern time, May 29. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 31.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit

Tewaaraton Award: History of the college lacrosse honor

Here is the background and list of winners of the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the best individual player in NCAA men's and women's lacrosse.

2022 NCAA lacrosse bracket: Scores, schedule, for the DI men's championship

Here is the official printable bracket for the 2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse tournament, which begins May 11 and will crown a champion in East Hartford, Conn. on May 30. 

College lacrosse teams with the most national championships

Here are the college lacrosse teams who have won the most NCAA DI men's lacrosse championships from 1971 to today.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners