lacrosse-men-d3 flag | May 8, 2022

2022 NCAA DIII men's lacrosse championship selections

DIII men's lacrosse: 2022 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 38-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 27 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining ten teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Except for the championship game, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams. First round competition will be held on Wednesday, May 11 with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Saturday, May 14. The second and third rounds will take place on Saturday, May 14 and Sunday, May 15. The quarterfinals and semifinals will take place on Saturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22.

This year’s finalists will advance to Hartford, Connecticut for the championship game at Rentschler Field, which will be played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 29, and shown via web stream on The Division II championship will follow at 4 p.m. Eastern time, which can also be seen on The Division I semifinals and championship are Saturday, May 28 and Monday, May 30 at the same site.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, go to

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

Region I - Automatic Qualifiers 

  • Commonwealth Coast Conference: Western New Eng. (14-5) 
  • Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Norwich (18-1) 
  • Little East Conference: UMass Boston (17-2) 
  • NESCAC: Tufts (16-2) 
  • NEWMAC: MIT (16-0) 
  • North Atlantic Conference: Maine Maritime (9-6) 

Region II - Automatic Qualifiers 

  • Empire 8: St. John Fisher (15-2) 
  • Liberty League: RIT (17-1) 
  • Skyline Conference: SUNY Maritime (11-7) 
  • State University of New York Athletic Conference: SUNY Cortland (13-6) 

Region III - Automatic Qualifiers 

  • Atlantic East Conference: Cabrini (15-4) 
  • Centennial Conference: Dickinson (18-0) 
  • Colonial States Athletic Conference: Stockton (16-2) 
  • Landmark Conference: Catholic (13-4) 
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth: York (PA) (17-2) 
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom: Stevens (12-7) 

Region IV - Automatic Qualifiers 

  • Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Colorado Col. (7-7) 
  • North Coast Athletic Conference: Denison (15-4) 
  • Ohio Athletic Conference: John Carroll (16-2) 
  • Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Lynchburg (15-4) 
  • Presidents' Athletic Conference: Grove City (15-4) 
  • USA South Athletic Conference: Southern Va. (14-4) 

Region V - Automatic Qualifiers 

  • College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin: North Central (IL) (9-7) 
  • Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Albion (14-4) 
  • Midwest Lacrosse Conference: Dubuque (12-7) 
  • Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference: Benedictine (IL) (12-6) 
  • Southern Athletic Association: Sewanee (8-8) 

Pool B Selections 

  • Chris. Newport (16-1) 

Pool C Selections 

  • Amherst (10-6) 
  • Bowdoin (16-2) 
  • Gettysburg (12-7) 
  • Rensselaer (10-5)
  • Roanoke (13-6) 
  • Salisbury (18-1) 
  • St. Lawrence (13-4) 
  • Union (NY) (14-2) 
  • Wash. & Lee (12-6) 
  • Wesleyan (CT) (12-5) 

Tewaaraton Award: History of the college lacrosse honor

Here is the background and list of winners of the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the best individual player in NCAA men's and women's lacrosse.

2022 NCAA lacrosse bracket: Scores, schedule, for the DI men's championship

Here is the official printable bracket for the 2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse tournament, which begins May 11 and will crown a champion in East Hartford, Conn. on May 30. 

College lacrosse teams with the most national championships

Here are the college lacrosse teams who have won the most NCAA DI men's lacrosse championships from 1971 to today.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners