lacrosse-men-d1 flag

NCAA staff | May 7, 2023

2023 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship selections

2023 NCAA DI men's lacrosse championship selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

  • America East Conference: Bryant
  • Atlantic Sun Conference: Utah
  • Atlantic Ten Conference: Richmond
  • Big East Conference: Georgetown
  • Big Ten Conference: Michigan
  • Colonial Athletic Association: Delaware
  • Ivy League: Princeton
  • Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Marist
  • Patriot League: Army

The remainder of the field was selected at large: Cornell, Duke, Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Notre Dame, Penn St., Virginia, and Yale.

The opening round game will be held on May 10, followed by the eight first-round contests held the weekend of May 13-14 on the campuses of the participating institutions.

Duke received the No. 1 overall seed and will host the winner of Delaware vs. Marist on May 14 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern. No. 2 seed Virginia will face Richmond on May 13 at Noon Eastern. in Charlottesville, Va. Notre Dame, the No. 3 seed, will host Utah May 13 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. Maryland is the No. 4 seed and will host Army May 13 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Penn St. Nittany Lions will play Princeton May 14 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in University Park, Pa. As the No. 6 seed, Johns Hopkins will play Bryant May 14 at Homewood Field at Noon Eastern in Baltimore, Md. No. 7 Georgetown will host Yale May 13 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed Cornell will play Michigan May 14 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern in Ithaca, N.Y. at Schoellkopf Field.

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will be televised on ESPNU May 20-21 at Navy Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md., and Tom & Mary Casey Stadium in Albany, N.Y. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, PA., May 27-29 and hosted by Drexel University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern., May 27. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1:00 p.m. Eastern., May 29.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

DII men's lacrosse championship: How to watch, preview and prediction

Mercyhurst and Lenoir-Rhyne will face off in the DII men's lacrosse championship game on May 28. Wayne Cavadi breaks down the matchup and takes a guess on who will win.

Jim Brown, Syracuse football and lacrosse star turned NFL legend, passes away

Syracuse and National Football League legend Jim Brown passed away today May 19, 2023.