lacrosse-men-d3 flag

NCAA staff | May 8, 2023

2023 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship Selections

DIII men's lacrosse: 2023 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2023 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 38-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 28 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” The remaining ten teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Except for the championship game, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams. First round competition will be held on Wednesday, May 10 with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Saturday, May 13. The second and third rounds will take place on Saturday, May 13 and Sunday, May 14. The quarterfinals and semifinals will take place on Saturday, May 20 and Sunday, May 21.

This year’s finalists will advance to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for the championship game at Lincoln Financial Field, which will be played at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 28, and shown via web stream on That game will be proceeded by the Division II championship at 1 p.m. Eastern time, which can also be seen on The Division I semifinals and championship are Saturday, May 27 and Monday, May 29 at the same site.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, go to

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

Region I - Automatic Qualifiers

  • Commonwealth Coast Conference: Western New Eng. (12-8)
  • Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Emmanuel (MA) (15-5)
  • Little East Conference: WestConn (15-4)
  • NESCAC: Tufts (18-0)
  • NEWMAC: Babson (12-4)
  • North Atlantic Conference: Maine Maritime (14-3)

Region II - Automatic Qualifiers

  • Empire 8: St. John Fisher (10-9)
  • Liberty League: RIT (18-1)
  • Skyline Conference: Merchant Marine (10-6)
  • State University of New York Athletic Conference: SUNY Geneseo (15-4)
  • United East Conference: St. Mary's (MD) (14-5)

Region III - Automatic Qualifiers

  • Atlantic East Conference: Cabrini (13-4)
  • Centennial Conference: Dickinson (15-3)
  • Colonial States Athletic Conference: New England Col. (6-12)
  • Landmark Conference: Scranton (14-5)
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth: York (PA) (14-5)
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom: Stevens (17-2)

Region IV - Automatic Qualifiers

  • Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Colorado College (9-6)
  • North Coast Athletic Conference: Denison (16-3)
  • Ohio Athletic Conference: John Carroll (14-2)
  • Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Wash. & Lee (16-4)
  • Presidents' Athletic Conference: Grove City (10-8)
  • USA South Athletic Conference: Pfeiffer (16-1)

Region V - Automatic Qualifiers

  • College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: Ill. Wesleyan (14-3)
  • Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Hope (13-5)
  • Midwest Lacrosse Conference: Lake Forest (13-4)
  • Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference: Aurora (15-4)
  • Southern Athletic Association: Centre (12-3)

Pool C Selections

  • Amherst (11-5)
  • Chris. Newport (16-2)
  • Gettysburg (12-4)
  • Kenyon (15-2)
  • Lynchburg (13-6)
  • Middlebury (16-2)
  • Salisbury (18-1)
  • Swarthmore (14-3)
  • Union (NY) (11-6)
  • Williams (10-7)

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

DII men's lacrosse championship: How to watch, preview and prediction

Mercyhurst and Lenoir-Rhyne will face off in the DII men's lacrosse championship game on May 28. Wayne Cavadi breaks down the matchup and takes a guess on who will win.

Jim Brown, Syracuse football and lacrosse star turned NFL legend, passes away

Syracuse and National Football League legend Jim Brown passed away today May 19, 2023.