April 18, 2009

Courtesy of The ACC

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Pairings for the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship have been determined, as announced by the league office on April 18. Maryland locked in the number one seed in the upcoming ACC three-day tournament, which will take place on the campus of Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va., after the second-ranked Terrapins defeated Virginia Tech Saturday afternoon en route to a flawless 5-0 record in league play this season.
Maryland, which is led by a trio of Tewaaraton nominees in Karri Ellen Johnson, Caitlyn McFadden and Sarah Mollison, earned a first-round bye and will take on the winner of No. 4 seed Virginia and No. 5 seed and host Virginia Tech on Friday, April 24 at 4 p.m. ET in semifinals action of the annual ACC Championship.
Opening round action will take place on Thursday afternoon at Virginia Tech's Thompson Field as the Cavaliers and Hokies square off at 1 p.m. and No. 3 seed Duke and No. 6 seed Boston College face in first-round action at 3:30 p.m.
The quarterfinals and semifinals of the upcoming women's lacrosse tournament will be available on the league's ACC Select, while the championship tilt on Sunday at 1 p.m. will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. For more information, go to: http://www.theacc.com/championships/09-womens-lacrosse-championship.html
2009 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship Dates
Thompson Field, Blacksburg, Va.
Thursday, April 23
No. 4 Virginia vs. No. 5 Virginia Tech - 1:00p
No. 3 Duke vs. No. 6 Boston College - 3:30p
Friday, April 24
No. 1 Maryland vs. No. 4 Virginia/No. Virginia Tech - 4:00p
No. 2 North Carolina vs. No. 3 Duke/No. 6 Boston College - 6:30p
Sunday, April 26
Championship - Fox Sports Net - 1:00p