April 23, 2009

Courtesy of The ACC

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Highlighting the 2009 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team are nine 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy nominees.  The 20-member squad, which was announced Thursday evening, is determined by a vote of the league’s six head coaches.
Maryland, which earned the top seed in this week’s ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, tied with North Carolina with a league-high five representatives named to the 2009 squad.  Virginia added four student-athletes to the list, which was represented by all six ACC women’s lacrosse programs. Duke placed three on the team, while Boston College and Virginia Tech added two and one, respectively.
Duke and Maryland are both led by a trio of Tewaaraton nominees, an award annually handed out to the nation's best women's lacrosse player. The Terrapins’ Karri Ellen Johnson, who ranks second in the country in goals with 58 on the season, Caitlyn McFadden and Sarah Mollison helped their squad to an undefeated regular season, while all three of Duke’s Tewaaraton nominees were named to the all-league team (Sarah Bullard, Caroline Cryer and Carolyn Davis). Rounding out the Tewaaraton nominees on this year’s All-ACC team are North Carolina’s Jenn Russell and Amber Falcone and Virginia’s Blair Weymouth.
The 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship began today, Thursday, April 23, on the campus of Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va. The three-day event will be held at the Hokies’ Thompson Field. For more information about the 2009 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, please visit TheACC.com.
Individual awards, such as Player and Coach of the Year, will be voted on by the league’s head coaches following the last regular season game and announced by the league office in May.
2009 All-ACC Honors
        Kristin Igoe    Sophomore       Midfield        Boston College
        Katie Monaghan  Senior  Goalie  Boston College
        Sarah Bullard   Sophomore       Midfield        Duke
        Caroline Cryer  Senior  Attack  Duke
        Carolyn Davis   Senior  Midfield        Duke
        Karri Ellen Johnson     Freshman        Attack  Maryland
        Brandi Jones    Sophomore       Midfield        Maryland
        Caitlyn McFadden        Junior  Midfield        Maryland
        Laura Merrifield        Sophomore       Midfield        Maryland
        Sarah Mollison  Sophomore       Attack  Maryland
        Megan Bosica    Junior  Midfield        North Carolina
        Amber Falcone   Senior  Defense North Carolina
        Logan Ripley    Junior  Goalie  North Carolina
        Jenn Russell    Junior  Midfield        North Carolina
        Kristen Taylor  Junior  Attack  North Carolina
        Kaitlin Duff    Junior  Midfield        Virginia
        Jenny Hauser    Senior  Attack  Virginia
        Ashley McCulloch        Senior  Attack  Virginia
        Blair Weymouth  Senior  Attack  Virginia
        Rachel Culp     Senior  Attack  Virginia Tech