May 3, 2009


Click here for full bracket!

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2009 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 26-team tournament.  Fifteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the championship.  Five teams are selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification.  The final six berths are reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and the remaining Pool B teams.

Ten first-round games will be conducted May 6 at campus sites.  Eight second-round games will be conducted May 9, and four quarterfinal-round games will be conducted May 10.  The second- and quarterfinal-round games will be contested at four regional sites on the campuses of participating institutions.  Winners of the four regionals will advance to the semifinals and final, to be played May 16-17 at Donald J. Kerr Stadium at Roanoke College, Salem, Virginia.  The Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the City of Salem will serve as host for the championship.

The following are the automatic qualifiers for the 15 approved conferences:

Capital Athletic Conference – Salisbury
Centennial Conference – Franklin and Marshall
Colonial States Athletic Conference – Cabrini
Commonwealth Coast Conference –    Endicott            
Empire 8 – St. John Fisher
Liberty League – Hamilton
Little East Athletic Conference – Keene State    
Middle Atlantic States Conference – Messiah
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference – Colby
New England Small College Athletic Conference –    Babson
North Coast Athletic Conference – Wooster        
Old Dominion Athletic Conference – Roanoke            
Skyline Conference –    Farmingdale State
State University of New York Athletic Conference – Cortland State
USA South Athletic Conference – Christopher Newport
The complete list of teams, dates and sites are included on the attached bracket.  For more information about the 2009 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship, log on to