May 9, 2010

Live BracketPrintable Bracket


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Committee has selected the 16 teams to compete in the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Eight first-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 15, or Sunday, May 16, and four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 22, or Sunday, May 23. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Towson University May 28 and 30 at Johnny Unitas® Stadium in Towson, Maryland. The semifinal games will be broadcast live on CBS College Sports Network at 5:30 and 8 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, May 28. The championship game will be broadcast live at 5:30 p.m., Sunday, May 30. Tickets for the semifinals and final can be purchased online at

Six conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2010 championship. In addition, the champions of the Patriot League (U.S. Naval Academy) and the Northeast Conference (Sacred Heart University) competed in a play-in game for one automatic berth, while the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Stanford University) and the Atlantic 10 Conference (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) competed in a second play-in game for the final automatic berth. The remaining eight teams were selected on an at-large basis.

A complete bracket with teams, dates and sites is attached.

Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification
America East Conference Boston U.
Atlantic Coast Conference Maryland
Big East Conference Georgetown
Colonial Athletic Association James Madison
Ivy Group Pennsylvania
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Marist

Play-In Games
Northeast at Patriot League Navy
Atlantic 10 at Mountain Pacific Stanford

Northwestern University enters the tournament as five-time defending champions. The University of Maryland, College Park will be making its 21st consecutive appearance in the championship (1990-2010). Other teams with consecutive appearance streaks of five or more years include Boston University (6, 2005-2010), the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (6, 2005-2010), Northwestern (7, 2004-2010), Duke University (13, 1998-2010) and the University of Virginia (15, 1996-2010).

In the 2009 championship, the Northwestern Wildcats captured their fifth consecutive national championship, defeating North Carolina at Johnny Unitas® Stadium in Towson, Maryland, in front of an NCAA championship game record crowd of 6,515, becoming just the ninth team to complete a title run with an undefeated record.