GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Top-seeded Christopher Newport won its sixth consecutive USA South Athletic Conference Tournament Championship, droppping No. 2-seed Greensboro College 18-7. Senior Kaitlin Quigley was named the Tournament MVP after scoring seven goals and recording four assists in two games.

CNU improves to 13-2 overall this season, tying the program record for wins in a season, set in each of the last three years. The Captains have posted the best win percentage in school history, going 13-2 this season for a mark of .867.

Greensboro jumped out to an early lead, 1-0, when Toni Battaglia scored an unassisted 2:25 into the contest. Rookie Ashton Marshall tied things up at one just over three minutes later when Quigley found her for the open look. The Pride jumped ahead again, 2-1, when Kayla Gonzalez scored off an assist by Layne Woodard with 17:58 showing in the first half.

The lead would not hold, though, as CNU would find its offense in a big way halfway through the opening period, scoring the next eight goals in the game to take a 9-2 lead. The 8-0 run came quickly, taking up just 6:32 on the clock, as Quigley kicked off the run with a tally at 15:29 on a free-position attempt. Marshall scored three in the run and Kelly Lane added a pair. Quigley added another and Lauren King with an unassisted score with just under nine minutes remaining.

The burst would put the game out of reach, as CNU scored three of the next five as well before halftime, heading into the break up 12-4. The Captains held Greensboro to just three second-half goals and put six up for the final score, 18-7.

Quigley led the way in the championship game, scoring three goals and recording a pair of assists for five points. Marshall scored four goals, giving her a tournament-high 10. Senior Meghan Harkey added three goals while King, Lane and Jessica Singer each had a pair.

Greensboro was led by Toni Battaglia, scoring three goals for the Pride. Layne Woodard added a goal and two assists.

Quigley headlined the All-Tournament team, the second third time in her career she hauled in the tournament most valuable player honor. She was joined on the All-Tournament team by teammates Ashton Marshall (A), Meghan Harkey (A), Lauren King (MF), Morgan Layton (D), Stephanie Green (D) and Hannah Wilkerson (GK). Also on the All-Tournament team were Ferrum College's Brooke Hewartson (A), Shenandoah's Samantha Sisson (MF) and Greensboro College's Melissa Gallaher (MF), Layne Woodard (MF) and Jackie Farrell (D).

CNU earns the USA South Athletic Conference automatic bid into the 2011 NCAA Womens' Lacrosse Tournament.