DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior Emma Hamm, senior Christie Kaestner and junior Kat Thomas have been listed as three of the 24 nominees for the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy. Duke joins Maryland and North Carolina as the only schools to have three or more players in contention for the nation’s pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade.

This is the first year Hamm, Kaestner and Thomas have been recognized as nominees for the Tewaaraton Trophy. The Blue Devils have had one Tewaaraton winner in program history as Katie Chrest took home the honor in 2005.

After missing the 2010 season due to injury, Hamm has returned in 2011 to lead the Blue Devils in goals (38) and draw controls (55). She is one of just two Blue Devils to register double figures in goals, assists, ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers on the year.

Kaestner, a senior from Trappe, Md., serves as the catalyst for Duke’s high-powered offense, dishing out a team-best 35 assists in 2011 to rank fourth in the nation. She is one of just six Duke players to break the 30-assists plateau in a single season and the only Blue Devil to accomplish that feat in back-to-back years.

Junior midfielder Thomas has been a consistent threat for the Blue Devils all season, leading the team with five four-goal games this season. The Latham, N.Y., native ranks second on the team in both goals (36) and draw controls (51) in 2011.

A watch list, which began with over 100 names, was narrowed down to 25 males and 24 females. Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees and will be invited to the award ceremony in June, where a male and a female winner will be honored. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011, at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.