Interactive Bracket
Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 16 teams to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Eight first-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 14, or Sunday, May 15, and four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 21, or Sunday, May 22.  These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions.  The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Stony Brook University May 27 and 29 at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, New York.  The semifinal games will be streamed live in HD on at 5 and 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, May 27. The championship game will be streamed at 4 p.m., Sunday, May 29.  Tickets for the semifinals and final can be purchased online at

Six conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2011 championship. In addition, the champions of the Patriot League (U.S. Naval Academy) and the Northeast Conference (Quinnipiac University) competed in a play-in game for one automatic berth, while the Atlantic 10 Conference (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) and the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Canisius College) competed in a second play-in game for the final automatic berth.  The remaining eight teams were selected on an at-large basis.
A complete bracket with teams, dates and sites is attached.

Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification
Conference School
America East Conference University at Albany
Atlantic Coast Conference University of Maryland, College Park
Big East Conference Loyola University Maryland
Colonial Athletic Association James Madison University
The Ivy League Princeton University
Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Stanford University
Play-In Games
Game Winner
Northeast at Patriot League Navy
MAAC at Atlantic 10 Massachusetts

In the 2010 championship, the Maryland Terrapins captured their 10th national championship title, defeating five-time defending champion Northwestern at Johnny Unitas Stadium in Towson, Maryland, in front of an NCAA championship game record crowd of 9,782, the largest crowd to ever see a women’s lacrosse game in the United States.

Maryland will be making its 22nd consecutive appearance in the championship (1990-2011). Other teams with consecutive appearance streaks of five or more years include North Carolina Chapel Hill (7, 2005-2011), Northwestern (8, 2004-2011), Duke University (14, 1998-2011), the University of Virginia (16, 1996-2011), and the University of Pennsylvania (5, 2007-2011). In addition, three teams are in the championship field for the first time. They are the University of Albany, Boston College and the University of Florida.

School No. of Appearances* Last Appearance
*Number includes 2011 appearance.
Albany First ---
Boston College First ---
Dartmouth 12 2006
Duke 14 2010
Florida First ---
James Madison 11 2010
Loyola (Md.) 14 2004
Maryland 27 2010
Massachusetts 5 2009
Navy 2 2010
North Carolina 13 2010
Northwestern 13 2010
Penn 7 2010
Princeton 20 2009
Stanford 3 2010
Virginia 24 2010