GARDEN CITY, N.Y. – Gettysburg captured its first NCAA Division III championship in dominating fashion with a 16-5 victory over Bowdoin  in the women’s lacrosse finals held on Sunday.

The Bullets scored 11 goals in the first half and never let the Polar Bears get back in the game.

Appearing in its second national final ever, Gettysburg (19-4) handily won its first national title in program history, and just the second national championship ever attained school history. The 1980 field hockey team won the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Division III title, a squad on which current women’s lacrosse coach Carol Cantele was a member.

Most Outstanding Performer Hannah Church finished with a Gettysburg record-tying eight points on five goals and three assists.  Kelsey Markiewicz pumped in four goals for the second-straight day and was also named All-Tournament, while junior goalie Maddie Coleman garnered All-Tournament accolades after posting nine saves in the final.

Joining the aforementioned trio on the NCAA All-Tournament team were sophomore Lindsey Robinson, who finished with one goal and three assists, and sophomore Mairead McGuirk, who led Gettysburg to a 13-10 advantage in draw controls.