The NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Rules Committee is recommending that all yellow cards become two-minute releasable penalties.

The committee proposed the change, as well as others to the carding system, at its meeting last week in Indianapolis. Under the proposed change, if a player on Team A receives a card and Team B scores before the two minutes are served, the player on Team A will be allowed to return to the field after the goal.

If a team has multiple players serving yellow cards, only one player will be released after a goal.

Previously, players with yellow cards were required to serve a non-releasable three minutes.

“Since the penalty is stricter, and with the likelihood that a team could be scored on, we reduced the length of the penalty time and made it releasable,” NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Committee chair Danie Caro said, who coaches at Quinnipiac. “It is similar to what is done in ice hockey and men’s lacrosse.”

Another carding proposal requires players who are issued yellow cards to serve their penalties behind the substitution box, which is located five yards on both sides of midfield near the scorer’s table. Any player who returns to the game before her penalty is up will have to start serving another two-minute releasable penalty.

The committee also proposed that any yellow card issued to the bench will be given to the head coach, instead of the individual who may have been called for the infraction. Any time a head coach receives a yellow card, that team must have a player serve a two-minute releasable penalty.

“That way, the head coach becomes accountable for the behavior on the sidelines,” Caro said.

All rules proposals must be approved by the NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel, which next meets via conference call on July 13.

In other action, the committee recommended that short-handed teams be required to play one person down on the offensive and defensive ends of the field below the 30-yard restraining line. In other words, four players must remain above the restraining line in the defensive zone.

The committee also recommended that two experimental rules used in the nontraditional season last fall become permanent rules.

The first would reduce the maximum number of players from each team allowed between the restraining lines during the draw from five to three. This includes the two players taking the draw. Committee members feel this rule will enhance player safety.

The other involves penalty administration for offsides by the attacking team. This change would give possession and free position at the spot of the ball, instead of four meters ahead of the restraining line as the current rule requires.

In other items, the committee:

• Agreed that officials will meet with both coaches at the same time at least 10 minutes before the start of the match. “This way, if one coach has a question, the other coach can hear it and become part of the conversation,” Caro said. “This will be a standardized meeting.”

• Stevens Institute of Technology women’s lacrosse coach Celine Cunningham was elected as chair for the 2011-12 academic year. Missy Doherty, Penn State women’s lacrosse coach, was named vice chair.