• 2013 will mark the 32nd year of the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

• Villanova will serve as the host school for the 2013 Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship that will be held May 24 and 26, 2013, at historic Villanova Stadium in Philadelphia, Pa. 

• The Division I women’s lacrosse championship was last held in Pennsylvania in 2007, when Northwestern defeated Virginia 15-13.

• Northwestern has captured seven of the last eight national championships, including two in a row. The latest Wildcats title came in 2012 when they defeated Syracuse 8-6 in the national championship match played in Stony Brook, N.Y. 

• Kelly Amonte Hiller has been the head coach at Northwestern for each of the schools seven national championships.

• The last school to break Northwestern’s national title run was Maryland, which won the championship in 2010.

• In the 31 years of the championship, Maryland has claimed 10 national titles, followed by Northwestern with seven, with Princeton and Virginia claiming three each.

• The schools with the most all-time championship match wins are Maryland (49), Northwestern (33), Princeton (31) and Virgina (29).

• The all-time attendance record was set in 2010 at Towson when 26,112 fans attended the two sessions played there. A record championship match crowd of 9,782 saw Maryland defeat Northwestern 13-11.

• The four schools participating in the 2012 championship were Northwestern, Syracuse, Florida and Maryland.

• The Florida Gators advanced to the 2012 Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship round of four despite it being only the second season of competition for the program. Florida had played in only 59 matches before its national semifinal match with Syracuse. The Orange won 14-13 in double overtime.

• Team record for most goals scored in a match came in 2003 when Maryland registered 26 in a victory against Temple 26-6.

• Kellie Thompson of North Carolina (2002) and Lauren Aumiller of Princeton (2003) hold the all-time championship record for most goals scored in a game with eight.

• Goalie Kim Jackson of Delaware is the all-time record holder for total saves in a tournament with 61 in 1984. Katrina Sorenson of Princeton has the single game saves record of 29, established in 1983.

• Shannon Smith of Northwestern was named Most Outstanding Player of the 2012 championship. Smith was also the tournament’s leading scorer in both the 2010 and 2011 championships. Soon after her playing career ended with Northwestern’s national championship in May, Smith was named head coach at Hofstra.

Championship History
Record Books