Interactive Bracket  Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 16 teams to compete in the 2012 Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Eight first-round games will be conducted Saturday or Sunday, May 12-13, and four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday or Sunday, May 19-20. Preliminary round games will be played on the campuses of competing schools. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Stony Brook on May 25 and 27 at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium.  The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 at 5:30 and 8 p.m. ET. The championship game will be shown live on ESPNU at 8 p.m. Tickets for the championship games in Stony Brook can be purchased online at

Five conferences, including the America East, American Lacrosse, Atlantic Coast, Big East and Ivy League had conference champions awarded automatic bids for the championship. In addition, there were three play-in games. The champions of the Patriot League (Navy), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Oregon), Colonial Athletic Association (Towson), Northeast (Monmouth) and Atlantic 10 (Massachusetts), the Metro Atlantic Athletic (Canisius) all competed in play-in games for the final automatic berths. Navy, Towson and Massachusetts advanced while the remaining eight teams were selected on an at-large basis.

Conference  Automatic Qualifiers At-Large Selections
America East Albany Duke
American Lacrosse Florida North Carolina
Atlantic Coast Maryland Northwestern
Atlantic 10 Massachusetts Notre Dame
Big East Loyola-Maryland Penn
Colonial Athletic Association Towson Penn State
Patriot League Navy Syracuse
Ivy League Dartmouth Virginia

In the 2011 championship, Northwestern captured its sixth national championship by scoring an 8-7 win against 2010 champion Maryland in the championship game also played at Stony Brook.  Northwestern has captured six of the last seven national championships.

Maryland will be making its 23rd consecutive appearance in the championship (1990-2012). Other teams with consecutive appearance streaks of five or more years include Virginia (17, 1996-2012), Duke (15, 1998-2012), Northwestern (9, 2004-2012), North Carolina (8, 2005-2012) and Penn (6, 2007-2012).

*At-large selections not determined by conference affiliation.