WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Senior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann was named the 2013 Tewaaraton Award winner at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

A native of Sykesville, Md., Schwarzmann is the first two-time Maryland winner and only the third player to do so in award history.

2013 -- Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2012 -- Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2011 -- Shannon Smith, Northwestern
2010 -- Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
2009 -- Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2008 -- Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2007 -- Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
2006 -- Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern

The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to honor the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

And Schwarzmann was certainly extraordinary in 2013.

The three-time IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year was crowned ACC Championship Most Valuable Player for a consecutive season after guiding Maryland to its fifth ACC title in a row. Schwarzmann was also named ACC Offensive Player of the Year and is one of only three players to earn All-ACC honors four times.

No one in the country filled up a box score as prolifically as Schwarzmann the past two seasons. She tallied 58 goals, 27 assists, 39 ground balls, 19 caused turnovers and 39 draw controls, and was vital to Maryland's transition game in 2013 as the Terrapins advanced to their fifth consecutive NCAA semifinals.

She ended her career ranked third all-time in both goals (228) and points (304). Schwarzmann earned a degree in business from Maryland in early May and is the reigning ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She will compete with the U.S. women's national team at the World Cup in Canada this summer.