lacrosse-women-d3 flag

Mark Bedics | | February 19, 2016

Division III Women's Lacrosse Championships headed to Salem, Virginia

  The NCAA has selected Salem, Va., as the host of the 2017 and 2018 championships.

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee announced it has selected Salem, Virginia, as the host of the 2017 and 2018 championships. The events will be held at Kerr Stadium on the campus of Roanoke College and be hosted by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the city of Salem.

“We are very excited to be taking the Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship to Salem, Virginia,” said Celine Cunningham, chair of the Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee and women’s lacrosse coach at Stevens Institute of Technology. “The Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the city of Salem have a tremendous track record of putting on some of the best championships the NCAA has to offer. We know the student-athletes, coaches and fans will be treated to a tremendous championship experience, and it will be a time they will remember for the rest of their lives.”

The Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the city of Salem have co-hosted 62 NCAA Division III championships. Previously, they hosted the 2008 and 2009 Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championships at Kerr Stadium. The duo annually hosts a number of NCAA championships, including the Division III Football Championship game, known as the Stagg Bowl.

“This continues a strong tradition that we formed with Salem, beginning with the 1993 Stagg Bowl,” said Brad Bankston, commissioner of the Old Dominion Athletic Conference. “Our goal for each championship is to provide a memorable championship environment for the student-athletes. We want them to remember their experience for a lifetime – regardless of the result on the field. Salem’s hospitality and administrative oversight have provided the conference a wonderful partner in this endeavor. It truly is a labor of love for all of us.”

The 2017 championships will be May 27-28, while the 2018 championship will be contested May 26-27.

Tewaaraton Award announces first round of 2023 men's and women's watchlist additions

Nine men and 14 women have been added to the 2023 Tewaaraton Award watchlists in the first round of additions. Here's who is on the radar ➡️

James Madison women's lacrosse defeats No. 5 Maryland for top-five win

The Dukes earned their 14th all-time victory against a top-five opponent by defeating No. 5 Maryland 8-7.

Syracuse takes down Maryland in women's lacrosse

No. 4 Syracuse women's lacrosse recorded its second consecutive victory against a team ranked in the top five to start the season, defeating No. 2 Maryland, 20-11, in the JMA Wireless Dome on Friday.