lacrosse-women-d3 flag | May 8, 2016

Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship Selections announced

DIII Women's Lacrosse: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 40 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Twenty-seven conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the championship. Four teams have been selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final nine berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes the remaining institutions in conferences with automatic qualification that are not the conference champion plus remaining independents and members of non-qualifying conferences.

Eight first-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 14 with the winners advancing to the second round. Sixteen second-round games will be conducted on Sunday, May 15 with the winners advancing to one of four regional sites Saturday and Sunday, May 21-22. Winners of the four regionals will advance to the semifinals and final, which take place Saturday and Sunday, May 28-29 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia. Saint Joseph’s University and Widener University will serve as hosts for the championship. 

MORE: Full Interactive Bracket

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (27): 

Conference School

Capital Athletic Conference

Salisbury University

Centennial Conference

Gettysburg College

Colonial States Athletic Conference

Cabrini College

Commonwealth Coast Conference

Roger Williams University

Empire 8

St. John Fisher College

Great Northeast Athletic Conference

Lasell College

Landmark Conference

Catholic University

Liberty League

William Smith College

Little East Conference

Keene State College

Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference

Bridgewater State University

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Calvin College

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth

Messiah College

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom

Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham

Midwest Women’s Lacrosse Conference

Concordia  University Wisconsin

New England Collegiate Conference

Regis College (Massachusetts)

New England Small College Athletic Conference

Middlebury College

New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference

Springfield College

New Jersey Athletic Conference

The College of New Jersey

North Atlantic Conference

Castleton University

North Coast Athletic Conference

Denison University

North Eastern Athletic Conference

SUNY Polytechnic Institute

Ohio Athletic Conference

University of Mount Union

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Washington and Lee University

Skyline Conference

St. Joseph’s College (Long Island)

Southern Athletic Association

Rhodes College

State University of New York Athletic Conference

SUNY Cortland

USA South Athletic Conference

Meredith College

Pool B Berths (4):


Colorado College

Augustana College (Illinois)

Pomona-Pitzer Colleges

Chapman University

Pool C Berths (9):


Amherst College

Bates College

College at Brockport, State University of New York

Franklin & Marshall College

Ithaca College

University of Mary Washington

St. Mary’s College of Maryland

Trinity College (Connecticut)

York College (Pennsylvania)

For more information about the 2016 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship, including a complete bracket with dates, sites and pairings, log on to

Northwestern's Izzy Scane and Duke's Brennan O'Neill win the 2023 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Northwestern attacker Izzy Scane and Duke attackman Brennan O’Neill as the women’s and men’s winners of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

Northwestern beats Boston College for the 2023 DI women's lacrosse national championship

The Northwestern lacrosse team is back on top of the sport. Combe Family Head Coach Kelly Amonte Hiller's No. 1-ranked Wildcats throttled No. 2 Boston College 18-6, capturing the program's eighth national title and first since 2012 on Sunday afternoon.

Pace women’s lacrosse crowned DII national champions

Pace wins its first national title with 19-9 win in Indianapolis.