lacrosse-women-d1 flag | May 7, 2017

Division I women's lacrosse championship field revealed

DI Women's Lacrosse: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 26 teams to compete in the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Eight sites will host first- and second-round competition Friday, May 12 and Sunday, May 14, and four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 20 or Sunday, May 21. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the University of Massachusetts Amherst, May 26 and 28 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts. 

The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 at 5 and 7:30 p.m. ET, Friday, May 26. The championship game will air live on ESPNU on Sunday, May 28 at 11 a.m. ET. Tickets for the championship games at Gillette Stadium can be purchased online at

Thirteen conferences, including the America East Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, ASUN Conference, Big East Conference, Big South Conference, Big Ten Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, The Ivy League, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, Northeast Conference and Patriot League had conference champions awarded automatic qualification for the 2017 championship. The remaining 13 teams were selected on an at-large basis.

Teams receiving automatic qualification:
America East Stony Brook
Atlantic 10 Massachusetts
Atlantic Coast North Carolina
ASUN Conference Jacksonville
Big East Florida
Big South High Point
Big Ten Maryland
Colonial James Madison
Ivy League Princeton
Metro Atlantic Canisius
Mountain Pacific Southern California
Northeast Bryant
Patriot  Navy
Teams selected at-large (alphabetically):
Albany (New York) Boston College
Colorado Cornell
Elon Louisville
Northwestern Notre Dame
Pennsylvania Penn State
Syracuse Towson

In the 2016 championship, North Carolina captured its second national championship in four years by scoring a 13-7 win over Maryland in the championship played at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia. 

NCAA Division I women’s lacrosse championship information is available on

7 of the best goals scored in women's college soccer so far this season

Of the many amazing goals scored so far this women's college soccer season, we chose seven that stood out among the rest.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners