lacrosse-women-d1 flag | May 10, 2018

2018 DI Women’s Lacrosse Championship bracket announced

Andy Katz breaks down DI Women's Lacrosse bracket

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 27 teams to compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Maryland was selected as the overall No. 1 seed after finishing 18-1 and winning the Big Ten Conference regular season and tournament championships.

RELATED: Interactive bracket

The tournament begins with an opening round game on May 8 or 9. Eight sites will host first- and second-round competition Friday, May 11, and Sunday, May 13, and four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 19 or Sunday, May 20.  These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions.  The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the national semifinals hosted by Stony Brook University at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, New York.  The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 at 5 and 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, May 25.  The championship game will air live on ESPNU Sunday, May 27 at Noon.  Tickets for the semifinals and national championship game at LaValle Stadium can be purchased online at

Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament champion North Carolina (15-3) earned the No. 2 seed in the field, while Colonial Athletic Association regular season and tournament champion James Madison enters the tournament as the No. 3 seed with an 18-1 record. Last year’s national runner-up Boston College (19-1) rounds out the top four seeds.

RELATED: We counted down the most memorable women's lacrosse championships

Fourteen conferences, including the America East Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, ASUN Conference, Big East Conference, Big South Conference, Big Ten Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, The Ivy League, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Northeast Conference, Pac-12 Conference, Patriot League and Southern Conference had conference champions awarded automatic qualification for the 2018 championship. The remaining 13 teams were selected on an at-large basis.

A complete bracket with teams, dates and sites is available at

Teams Earning Automatic Qualification:

Conference School
America East Stony Brook (19-0)
Atlantic 10 Richmond (16-3)
ACC North Carolina (15-3)
ASUN Jacksonville (16-3)
Big East Florida (16-3)
Big South High Point (17-2)
Big Ten Maryland (18-1)
Colonial James Madison (18-1)
Ivy League Princeton (12-5)
MAAC Fairfield (13-6)
Northeast Wagner (13-5)
Pac-12 Stanford (15-4)
Patriot Navy (16-3)
Southern Mercer (9-10)
Teams Selected At-Large
Boston College (19-1)
Colorado (13-5)
Denver (12-6)
Georgetown (12-6)
Johns Hopkins (10-8)
Loyola Maryland (15-4)
Northwestern (13-5)
Penn (13-4)
Penn State (10-9)
Syracuse (9-9)
Towson (15-4)
Virginia (9-9)
Virginia Tech (13-6)

Mercer and Virginia Tech will both be making their debut appearance in the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championships.

In the 2017 championship, Maryland defeated Boston College, 16-13, at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, in front of a record crowd of 11,668. The championship extended the Terrapins NCAA record to 13 women’s lacrosse national championships. 

NCAA Division I women’s lacrosse championship information is available on

8 things to know about North Carolina women's lacrosse — a team with a shot at perfection

The North Carolina women's lacrosse team has yet to lose a game this season, but perfection isn't the only thing the Tar Heels are on the hunt for — they want a championship and revenge against a conference foe.

2022 NCAA women's lacrosse tournament: Printable bracket .PDF

Here is the printable version of the 2022 NCAA DI women's lacrosse tournament bracket.

2022 NCAA DIII women's lacrosse championship selections announced

The NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 46 teams that will compete in the 2022 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners