lacrosse-women-d1 flag | June 12, 2018

Substitution change proposed in women’s lacrosse

2018 DI NCAA Tournament women's lacrosse top plays

In a continuation of the free movement rules it recommended last year, the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Rules Committee proposed another change that will allow substitutions when the game clock is stopped, unless otherwise specified in the rules.

The committee, which met last week in Indianapolis, recommended removing a rule that prohibits players from entering the field as a substitute while the clock is stopped.

MORE: James Madison wins 2018 DI championship | View the full bracket 

After sweeping changes were made last year to allow more free movement in the sport, committee members felt this rule unintendedly slowed the game down.

The 2018 season was the first time players in the sport could keep moving after a foul or violation while the player possessing the ball restarts play. A 2-meter nonengagement area was established around the player awarded possession of the ball. All other players on the field were free to move outside the nonengagement area, too.

“Throughout the season, we saw the substitution rule as one that became hard for the officials to manage,” said Ann Elliott, chair of the committee and coach at Colorado. “It was taking away from the free movement and the increased pace of the game that we all wanted. This small change will have a positive effect and be more in line with the changes we made last year.”

WOMEN'S LACROSSE: Boston College's Sam Apuzzo wins Tewaaraton Award

All rules changes must be approved by the NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel, which will discuss the women’s lacrosse rules proposal July 25.  

Laura Hebert named NCAA national coordinator for women’s lacrosse officiating

Laura Hebert was named the national coordinator of officials for women’s lacrosse, bringing three decades of experience as both an on-field official and a playing rules administrator in the sport at the national and local levels.

Modification to stick checks approved in women’s lacrosse

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel approved changes to pregame and in-game stick checks in women’s lacrosse for the 2019-20 academic year.

The way early women's lacrosse top 25 rankings for the 2020 season

We know the 2019 campaign just ended about two months ago. But it's not too soon to project the extremely early top 25 Division I women's lacrosse rankings prior to the upcoming spring season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners