lacrosse-women-d1 flag

Michella Chester | | May 11, 2020

Women's college lacrosse teams with the most national championships

Maryland beats Boston College to claim 14th NCAA title

Massachusetts won the first women's lacrosse national championship when they took down Trenton State 9-6 in 1982. Twelve teams have won the title since that inaugural game. The 2019 season ended with a familiar name on top — Maryland. The Terrapins picked up their 14th national championship, the most in NCAA DI women's lacrosse history.

2019 RECAP: Maryland beat Boston College 12-10 for the title

Let's take a look at the seven teams that have won at least two national championships: 

Women's college lacrosse history: Programs with the most national championships

1. Maryland — 14

Tommy Gilligan | USA TODAY Sports Images Maryland national champions Maryland celebrate on field after defeating against the Boston College in the women's NCAA lacrosse national championship game at Homewood Field.

Championships: 1986, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019

The Terps have dominated women's college lacrosse championships with double the amount of championships than the next team. They won seven in a row from 1995-2001 under head coach Cindy Timchal, and have now won five championships in the last decade under head coach Cathy Reese. 

2. Northwestern — 7

John Munson | NCAA Photos Northwestern Northwestern University celebrates their 9-6 victory over Syracuse University during the Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship held at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium.

Championships: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012 

Northwestern is another team that had a dominating stretch. The Wildcats won five consecutive championships from 2005-2009, lost in the title game in 2010, and then won two more in a row in 2011 and 2012. 

3 (tie). Princeton — 3

Larry French | NCAA Photos Princeton National Championship The Princeton Tigers celebrate their 8-7 overtime win over the University of Virginia during the Division 1 Women's Lacrosse Championship held in the Carrier Dome on the Syracuse University campus.

Championships: 1994, 2002, 2003

The Tigers have three championships. Fun fact: in their last championship game where they defeated Virginia, they weren't even wearing lacrosse goggles. 

3 (tie). Virginia — 3

Larry French | NCAA Photos Virginia national champ The University of Virginia celebrates their 10-4 victory over Princeton following the Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship held at Princeton Stadium.

Championships: 1991, 1993, 2004

Virginia's last national championship came one year after losing the previous one to Princeton. They were, in fact, wearing goggles this year. 

5 (tie). North Carolina — 2

Greg Fiume | NCAA Photos UNC national championship North Carolina teammates after defeating Maryland 13-7 during the Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship held at Talen Energy Stadium .

Championships: 2013, 2016

North Carolina is probably a name you have heard as a national contender in women's lacrosse in recent years. The Tar Heels have been a strong program this past decade, and won their second title in 2016, taking down Maryland 13-7. 

5 (tie). Penn State — 2

Penn State 1989

Championships: 1987, 1989 

Lacrosse looked a lot different when Penn State won its last national championship with wooden sticks. 

5 (tie). Temple — 2


Championships: 1984, 1988

Temple actually won three consecutive national championships if you count the AIAW championship in 1982, the year before the first NCAA national championship game. These three championships are the most of any sport at the university. All three came under head coach Tina Sloan Green. 

8 men's college basketball programs that have surprisingly never been ranked No. 1

These programs have spent the most weeks ranked in the AP poll without reaching No. 1.

Maryland women's basketball is our Team of the Week after an impressive slate of wins

Maryland is our latest team of the week in DI women's basketball after knocking off Mount St. Mary's, UNC Wilmington and Baylor.

Men's soccer rankings: Wild week leads to big changes in latest top 10

The United Soccer Coaches poll has been updated following Week 3 in Division I men's soccer. Three teams made significant leaps in the top 10 this week, dramatically reshaping the rankings.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners