lacrosse-women-d1 flag

Greg Johnson, | October 18, 2021

Melissa Coyne returns as NCAA national coordinator of officials for women’s lacrosse

Boston College beats Syracuse to win its first women's lacrosse national championship

Melissa Coyne has been named NCAA national coordinator of officials for women's lacrosse.

This will be Coyne's second stint in the position. She previously held the role from 2014-19. She succeeds Laura Hebert, who resigned earlier this year.

As the national coordinator, Coyne will oversee communication among women's lacrosse officials, conference coordinators, coaches and the NCAA. She will help provide consistency in the interpretation of NCAA women's lacrosse rules and mechanics.

In addition, Coyne will work with the Division I, II and III Women's Lacrosse Committees in the identification, training, selection and evaluation of umpires for each championship.

"I am excited to return to the NCAA as the national coordinator of officials," said Coyne, who is the director of athletics at the St. James sports complex in Springfield, Virginia. "Women's lacrosse continues to evolve and grow, and I am looking forward to working with coaches, administrators and officials as we pursue the very best for the student-athletes and fans."

2020 CHAMPS: Boston College wins first women's lacrosse title | BC's North breaks goals record

Coyne's experience in the sport also includes working at USA Lacrosse, where she was the director of the National Team Development Program (2017-18), director of games administration (2014-17) and director of the women's game (2011-14).

Coyne is a former NCAA student-athlete, having played women's lacrosse at North Carolina, where she graduated with a degree in political science in 2001.

Panel approves rules changes to make women’s lacrosse more efficient

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel on Wednesday approved a package of rules changes with the goal of making women's lacrosse more efficient, beginning with the 2021-22 academic year.

Women’s Lacrosse Rules Committee looks to make game more efficient through new proposals for fewer stoppages

The NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Rules Committee proposed a package of rules changes with the goal of making the game more efficient, beginning with the 2021-22 academic year.

Charlotte North and Jared Bernhardt win 2021 Tewaaraton Award

Boston College attacker Charlotte North and University of Maryland attackman Jared Bernhardt are the women’s and men’s winners of the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female and top male college lacrosse players in the United States.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners