INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has named 31 student-athletes as Elite 88 award winners from the winter championships season.

The Elite 88, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 88 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 88 championships.

All GPAs are based on a straight grading scale to ensure consistency among institutions. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and competing at the championship.

The 31 award winners by sport and division (I, II, III or National Collegiate), school and major of study and GPA are:

Sport (Division) Name Institution Major (GPA)
Men’s Basketball (I) *Matt Howard Butler University Finance (3.769)
Men’s Basketball (II) Nick Trull Anderson University (South Carolina) Kinesiology (3.945)
Men’s Basketball (III) Sean Hoffmann Williams College Political Science (3.779)
Women’s Basketball (I) Maya Moore University of Connecticut Sports Media and Promotion (3.669)
Women’s Basketball (II) Angela Guisfredi Michigan Technological University Exercise Science (3.947)
Women’s Basketball (III) Dani Hoover Washington University (Missouri) Systems Science and Engineering (4.0)
Bowling (NC) Kristina Frahm University of Maryland, Eastern Shore Accounting (3.950)
Fencing (NC) Noam Mills Harvard University Economics (3.861)
Men’s Gymnastics (NC) Miguel Pineda Pennsylvania State University Science (3.990)
Women’s Gymnastics (NC) Rachel Terry University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa Early Childhood Education (4.0)
Men’s Ice Hockey (I) Bradley Eidsness University of North Dakota Entrepreneurship (3.760)
Men’s Ice Hockey (III) Alex Dubois Norwich University Business (3.964)
Women’s Ice Hockey (I) Becca Ruegsegger University of Wisconsin, Madison African Languages and Literature (4.0)
Women’s Ice Hockey (III) Sara Yungner Gustavus Adolphus College Biology (3.958)
Rifle (NC) Alix Moncada University of Texas at El Paso Marketing and Accounting (3.953)
Skiing (NC) Amy Glen University of Vermont Biology (4.0)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (I) Justin Farra The Ohio State University Economics and Political Science (3.874)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (II) *Matthew Laschuk Wayne State University (Michigan) Chemistry and Pre-Medicine (3.993)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (III) *Kellen Beckwith Olivet College Mathematics (4.0)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (I) Alyssa Conner Texas A&M University, College Station Marketing (4.0)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (II) Tanya Sylvester Truman State University Pre-Medicine (4.0)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (III) *Tessa Dover Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps College Psychology/Legal Studies (4.0)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (I) Miles Unterreiner Stanford University History (3.957)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (II) Shawn Boss University of Central Missouri Computer Information Systems (4.0)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (III) Kyle Hannon Massachusetts Institute of Technology Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (4.0)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (I) Kelly Phillips Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Biological Science (4.0)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (II) Whitney Bishoff Anderson University (South Carolina) Elementary Education (4.0)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (III) *Liz Phillips Washington University (Missouri) Biomedical Engineering (4.0)
Wrestling (I) *Nick Amuchastegui Stanford University Mechanical Engineering (3.944)
Wrestling (II) Jordan Larsen Colorado School of Mines Civil Engineering (3.927)
Wrestling (III) Chris Sandy St. John’s University (Minnesota) History (3.986)
*Repeat award winner