INDIANAPOLIS -- Five previous honorees and three institutions with multiple winners highlight the Elite 89 award winners from the NCAA 2011-12 winter championships.

Of the 31 student-athletes named as Elite 89 award winners, the five honored for a second time at their respective sport championships are Shawn Boss, Central Missouri, Division II men's indoor track and field; Kyle Hannon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Division III men's indoor track and field; Alix Moncada, Texas - El Paso, National Collegiate rifle; Lindsay Palmer, Baylor, Division I women's basketball; and Rachel Terry, Alabama, National Collegiate women's gymnastics.

In addition, Ferris State (Division I men's ice hockey and Division II women's indoor track and field), Illinois Wesleyan  (Division III men's and women's basketball) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Division III men's and women's indoor track and field) each feature two student-athletes named as award winners.

The Elite 89, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 89 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's 88 championships.

All GPAs are based on a straight grading scale to ensure consistency among institutions. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and competing at the championship.

Exercise Science (3.888)

Sport (Division) Name
Major (GPA)
Men’s Basketball
Aaron Craft Ohio State Exercise Science (3.888)
Men’s Basketball (II) Sean Lowry Stonehill Marketing (3.794)
Men’s Basketball (III) Nick Anderson Illinois Wesleyan Accounting (3.975)
Women’s Basketball (I) *Lindsay Palmer Baylor Sports Management (3.985)
Women’s Basketball (II) Lisa Elmer Pittsburg State Accounting (4.0)
Women’s Basketball (III) Lexi Baltes Illinois Wesleyan English (3.877)
Bowling (NC) Megan Buja Maryland, Eastern Shore Human Ecology and Dietetics (4.0)
Fencing (NC) Christine McIntosh Cornell Biological Sciences (3.893)
Men’s Gymnastics (NC) Lukasz Adamczyk  Ill-Chicago Spanish and Biochemistry (4.0)
Women’s Gymnastics (NC) *Rachel Terry Alabama Early Childhood Education (4.0)  
Men’s Ice Hockey (I) Thomas Hill Ferris State Finance (3.851)  
Men’s Ice Hockey (III) Igor Martinez Norwich Civil Engineering (3.850)
Women’s Ice Hockey (NC) Carolyne Prevost Wisconsin Kinesiology (3.779)
Women’s Ice Hockey (III) Marah Sobczak Gustavus Adolphus Physics (3.858)
Rifle (NC) *Alix Moncada Texas-El Paso Business (3.968)
Skiing (NC) Andreas Haug Colorado Business (4.0)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (I) Brent Sterling Tennessee Biological Sciences (3.980)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (II) Kristian Krc Ouachita Baptist Pre-Engineering and Physics (4.0)
Men’s Swimming & Diving (III) Joseph Huyett Stevens Institute of Technology Mechanical Engineering (4.0)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (I) Wendy Trott  Georgia International Affairs (3.975)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (II) Anna McIntyre Florida Southern Pre-Med and Biology (4.0)
Women’s Swimming & Diving (III) Chelsea Wiese Hope Public Accounting (4.0)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (I) Will Barry Texas A&M Civil Engineering (4.0)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (II) *Shawn Boss Central Missouri Computer Information Systems (4.0)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field (III) *Kyle Hannon Massachusetts Institute of Technology Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (3.920)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (I) Frances Dowd Virginia Tech Environmental Policy and Planning (4.0)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (II) Shelby Janutol Ferris State Biology (4.0)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field (III) Lauren Kuntz Massachusetts Institute of Technology Mechanical Engineering (4.0)
Wrestling (I) Daniel Mitchell American Business Administration (3.953)
Wrestling (II) Cody Lensing Augustana (South Dakota) Biochemistry and Philosophy (3.960)
Wrestling (III) Anthony Valek Augsburg Accounting and Management (3.870)
*Repeat award winner