WHEELING, W.Va. -- As of July 1, the Mountain East Conference officially welcomes its twelve charter members of the newest Division II league.

"While we are still more than a month away from when action begins in the Mountain East Conference, we are very excited that our twelve members are moving forward as members of the MEC as of today,” said Commissioner Reid Amos. “This is one of several landmark days for the Mountain East as we officially become the newest active NCAA Division II conference this year. We have every confidence that our new conference will be highly competitive and will provide great opportunities and memorable experiences for our student-athletes.”

The new league’s charter members include: Concord (W.Va.), Fairmont State, Glenville State, Notre Dame (Ohio), Shepherd, Charleston (W.Va.), Virginia-Wise, Urbana (Ohio), West Liberty, West Virginia State, Wheeling Jesuit and West Virginia Wesleyan.

The new conference will begin begin competition in the fall of 2013 after receiving approval from the NCAA in February. Eleven schools are currently members of NCAA Division II with Virginia-Wise nearing completion of Candidacy Year 1 of the NCAA Division II membership process.

The 12-team regional all-sports league will sponsor championship competition in 16 men’s and women’s sports during the 2013-14 academic year.