ncaa-d2 flag

Lone Star Conference Athletics | August 4, 2014

Wagnon resigns as Lone Star commissioner

RICHARDSON, Texas -- The Lone Star Conference Council of Presidents on Friday accepted the resignation of commissioner Stan Wagnon.

Associate commissioner for compliance Jay Poerner has been named interim commissioner. A national search for a new commissioner will begin immediately.

“We certainly appreciate Stan’s service as LSC commissioner and wish him well in his future endeavors. Conference services and programs will carry on as normal under interim  Commissioner Poerner, in whom I have complete confidence,” said Dr. Brian May, chair of the LSC Council of Presidents and president of Angelo State University.

“The LSC presidents see this leadership transition as an opportunity to accelerate our progress in making the Lone Star Conference the pre-eminent Division II conference in the nation,” May said.

“We will be looking for a new commissioner who can build on the storied legacy of the Lone Star Conference and lead it to new heights of excellence.”

2020 DII baseball preview: 8 teams that could earn a spot in Cary

The 2020 DII baseball championship finals are heading to Cary, North Carolina, for an 11th season. Here's a look at one team from each region that could be playing for the national championship between May 30-June 6.

The CIAA tournament is a gold mine of college basketball history

Take a look back at 75 years of memorable moments and iconic figures that make CIAA — the oldest African-American athletic conference in the country — so special in both DII men's and women's basketball history.

DII women's basketball Power 10 rankings Week 9

Drury, Ashland and Texas A&M-Commerce remained perfect on the season keeping them the top three teams in the latest DII women's basketball Power 10.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners