ncaa-d3 flag | March 12, 2015

DIII hockey championship host sites announced

The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey committee has announced that hosting duties for the semifinals and championship game, which is the NCAA’s only non-predetermined championship site, will be awarded to the top-remaining seed following the quarterfinal round Saturday night.

As the top-overall seed on the women’s side, Plattsburgh State will serve as host of the finals in its Ronald B. Stafford Ice Arena if it posts a win against the St. Thomas (Minn.) in the quarterfinals. Elmira would be next in line to serve as host in its Murray Athletic Center should the Cardinals not advance and the Soaring Eagles win their quarterfinal contest.  

Due to scheduling constraints for practice and game time conflicts that would involve Plattsburgh’s men’s and women’s teams and their opponents, Plattsburgh’s men’s team will travel to the winner of the Trinity (Conn.) and Nichols first-round contest should the top-seed Plattsburgh State women’s team advance in its quarterfinals contest. If the Plattsburgh State women’s team does not advance, the Plattsburgh State men’s team will host its quarterfinal game.

In the other men’s quarterfinals, Wisconsin-Stevens Point will host Hamline; Adrian will host the winner of Saturday’s first-round game between Hobart and SUNY Oswego and Amherst will host the winner of the first-round game between Norwich and Plymouth State.

The semifinals and final of the Division III men’s tournament will be held at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis on the campus of the University of Minnesota March 27-28.