ncaa-d2 flag | March 10, 2016

DII Swimming & Diving Championships: Five records set on Day 1

INDIANAPOLIS – Queens University of Charlotte (N.C.)  swimmer Patricia Ortega-Castro broke her own NCAA Division II championship meet record not once, but twice, today, as she defended her national title in the 200-yard individual medley.
Overall, five NCAA championship meet marks were set on the first day of competition at the Division II Swimming & Diving Championships at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis. Queens leads the women’s standings with 127 points, followed by Drury University with 86 and Wingate University with 79. Queens also sits atop the men’s leaderboard with 88 points, followed by Lindenwood University with 77.5 and Nova Southeastern University with 65.

MORE: Complete Day 1 results

Ortega-Castro easily won the title in 1:55.63, topping the 1:57.19 she had set earlier in the day. The previous meet and Division II record was 1:58.60.
Other records set Wednesday:
·         Wen Xu of Drury University won the 50-yard women’s freestyle title in 22.38. She set the new championship meet record in the preliminaries with a time of 22.36. The previous mark was 22.46
·         Serghei Golban of Lindenwood University also set a meet record when he won the 50-yard men’s freestyle championship in 19.35. The previous mark was 19.39
·         Wingate University set a new mark in the women’s 200-yard medley relay with a time by 1:39.90, eclipsing the previous record of 1:40.09
·         Monica Amaral of the University of West Florida won the women’s three-meter diving competition, breaking a 22-year record with a new meet score of 550.20. The previous record was 516.40, set in 1994.
The closest finish of the night came when Florida Southern College defeated Lindenwood by 0.01 second in the men’s 200-yard medley relay. The winning time was 1:26.24. The University of Indianapolis, co-host of the meet, scored 11 points when its 200-yard medley relay team of Rodrigo Coda Berti, Bartosz Zarzecki, Bucky Coonradt and Marius Bornkessel finished eighth.
Competition continues through Saturday, with preliminary rounds for swimming events each day at 10:30 a.m. at the Natatorium and finals at 6 p.m. Diving preliminaries are conducted at 2 p.m. each day. A complete schedule of events may be found HERE.
A total of 340 student-athletes, including 157 men and 183 women, are scheduled to compete in the championships. Thirty-one teams are competing for the men’s title and 38 teams for the women’s championship.
All-session and single-session tickets for the championships are on sale. All-session passes range from $30 to $70 and single-session tickets range from $10 to $15 for finals events. Tickets may be purchased online at
This is the second straight year for the championship in Indianapolis. The University of Indianapolis and the Indiana Sports Corp are co-hosts of the event. Portions of the championships will be streamed live on