ncaa-d2 flag

Cliff Harris Award release | December 15, 2018

2018 Cliff Harris finalists for best defensive player in DII football announced

Ferris State heads to the DII Football Championship game

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas – The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Wright Lindsey Jennings announced the finalists for the sixth annual CLIFF HARRIS AWARD. The award is presented to the nation’s top small college defensive player representing more than 5,000 defensive players from almost 500 NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA colleges and universities.

An overall winner will be announced on December 24th and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet on January 10, 2019. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy presented by Cliff Harris. In addition to the overall winner, the top vote getters from each division will also be announced. A prestigious group of former college and pro football greats serve on the Cliff Harris Award Committee.

Player Name   Class College Position
Corey Ballentine SR Washburn University DB
Aaron Berry SR Azusa Pacific University LB
Bo Brooks SR Missouri University of Science & Technology LB
Jake Carlock SR LIU Post LB
John Cominsky SR University of Charleston DL
Jose Delgado SR Fort Hays State University LB
Austin Edwards JR Ferris State University DL
Keandre Evans JR Ouachita Baptist University DB
Devin Hafford JR Tarleton State University DB
Jonathan Harris SR Lindenwood University DL
Marcus Haskins FR Concordia University DB
J.T. Hassell SR Florida Tech LB
Jamarcus Henderson SR Newberry DL
Bo Highburger SR Western Oregon University LB
Chris Hoad JR Texas-Permian Basin LB
Devon Hunt JR Shaw University LB
Markus Jones SR Angelo State University DL
Cody Leonard SR Quincy University LB
Lamont McPhatter II JR California University of Pennsylvania DB
Tyler Morrissey SR West Chester (Pa.) University LB
Gunner Olszewski SR Bemidji State University DB
Brandon Payer FR Colorado State-Pueblo LB
James Prater Jr. SR Ashland University DL
Cardell Rawlings SR Wingate University DL
Terry Samuel SR West Alabama LB
Daryus Skinner JR Winston-Salem State University DB
Austin Stephens JR Miles College LB
Delon Stephenson JR Ferris State University DB
Ross Thompson SR Ohio Dominican University LB
Brian Williams SR Davenport University DB
T.J. Winslow SR Harding University DL


Player Name   Class College Position
Mitchell Allan SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps LB
Mauro Altamura SR Montclair State University LB
Louis Berry SR Mount Union University DB
Nathan Brinker SR Saint John's University (Minn.) DL
Cameron Brown SR Case Western University DL
Michael Connor SR Simpson College LB
Austin Dean SR Brockport DL
Frankie Feaster JR Muhlenberg College DL
Jefferson Fritz SO University of Mary Hardin-Baylor DB
Nicholas Giorgio SR Springfield College DL
Matt Gurgone SR St. Norbert College LB
Harry Henschler SR University of Wisconsin-Whitewater DL
Zach Howard SR Westfield State LB
Antonio Johnson JR North Carolina Wesleyan College LB
Kyle Kilgore SR Bethel University DL
Bryson Lamboy SR Berry College DL
Thomas Lesniewski SR Monmouth College (Ill.) DL
Joey Longoria JR Mary Hardin-Baylor DL
Duke Mackle SR Linfield College DB
Pat Minogue SR Ithaca College LB
Diante Moses SR Lakeland University LB
Javon Muhammad SR MacMurray College DL
Re'Shaun Myers JR Bridgewater College LB
Michael Nobile FR Delaware Valley University DL
Danny Robinson SR Mount Union University LB
John Salute SR Salve Regina University DL
Jonathan Seay JR Wittenberg University LB
Ryan Slager SR Grinnell LB
Eric Stevenson SR Wheaton College (IL) LB
Elvin Suazo SR Husson University LB
Jimmy Thomas SR John Carroll University DL
Chad Wilburg SR Whitworth University DL
Marcus Winters SR Trine University DB
Andrew Yamin SR Amherst College LB
Isaac Zickafoose SR Bluffton University DL


Player Name   Class College Position
Curt Boeke SR Dakota State (S.D.) University DL
Shaq Bradford JR Kansas Wesleyan University DL
Caleb Coe SR Olivet Nazarene LB
Jason Ferris JR Univeristy of Montana Western LB
J.T. Graydon SO Reinhardt (Ga.) University DL
Josh Hettiger JR Saint Xavier University LB
Joel Katzer JR Morningside College LB
Jay Liggins SR Dickinson State (N.D.) DB
Mike Mitchell SR Southeastern (Fla.) University DL
Andreas Moeller SR Evangel University DL
Trent Mueller JR Lindsey Wilson College LB
Chad Scaggs SR Marian University DL
Ben Slavens JR Grand View University LB
Kenneth Steele SR Ottawa (AZ) University LB
Bryce Van Beek SR Northwestern College DB

The Black Hills Brawl and 10 other most-played rivalries in DII football history

South Dakota School of Mines and Black Hills State faced off yet again in their long history, making it the most played rivalry in DII football. Here's the complete list.

These are the upcoming NCAA games and events across all sports you can't miss

Here's a rundown of all the games, matches and competitions in the coming weeks that you can't miss. How to watch information is included. This article will be updated throughout the year.

2023 NCAA fall sports championship schedule

Here is the schedule for the the 2023 NCAA fall championships in DI, DII, DIII and National Collegiate sports.