ncaa-d1 flag

NCAA | May 9, 2022

2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse championship selections

Virginia wins the 2021 DI men's lacrosse national championship

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

  • America East Conference: Vermont
  • Atlantic Sun Conference: Robert Morris
  • Big East Conference: Georgetown
  • Big Ten Conference: Maryland
  • Colonial Athletic Association: Delaware
  • Ivy League: Penn
  • Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Manhattan
  • Northeast Conference: Saint Joseph's
  • Patriot League: Boston U.
  • Southern Conference: Richmond

The remainder of the field was selected at large: Brown, Cornell, Harvard, Ohio State, Princeton, Rutgers, Virginia, and Yale.

CONFERENCE CHAMPS: Watch Boston University's game winning goal to secure Patriot League crown

The opening round games will be held on May 11, followed by the eight first-round contests held the weekend of May 14-15 on the campuses of the participating institutions.

Maryland received the No. 1 overall seed and will host the winner of Manhattan vs. Vermont on May 15 at Noon Eastern. No. 2 seed Georgetown will face the winner of Delaware vs. Robert Morris on May 15 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in Washington, DC. Penn, the No. 3 seed, will host Richmond May 14 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. Yale is the No. 4 seed and will host Saint Joseph's May 14 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Princeton Tigers will play Boston U. May 14 at Noon Eastern in Princeton, NJ. As the No. 6 seed, Rutgers will play Harvard May 15 at Yurcak Field at 2:30 p.m. Eastern in Piscataway, NJ. No. 7 Cornell will host Ohio State May 15 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed Brown will play Virginia May 14 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in Providence, RI. at Stevenson-Pincince.

READ MORE: Tewaaraton award nominees announced 

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will be televised on ESPNU May 21-22 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York, and Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Pratt and Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn., May 28-30 and hosted by Fairfield University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern time, May 28. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 30.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit

NCAA Division I Council modernizes rules for coaching limits

The Division I Council took steps to modernize a number of rules Wednesday, including approving adjustments to transfer waiver guidelines, modifying personnel rules across several sports and formally eliminating the requirement for standardized test scores in initial eligibility. The Council met as part of the 2023 NCAA Convention in San Antonio.

2023 NCAA winter sports championship schedule

Here is the 2023 NCAA winter sports championships schedule, including the dates and locations for DI, DII and DIII championships.

The essential guide to the Harlon Hill Trophy

The Harlon Hill Trophy — the Heisman of DII football — is awarded annually to the player of the year. Here's what you need to know about the award's namesake and history of past winners.