rifle-nc flag

Beth Maiman | NCAA.com | March 10, 2019

TCU wins 2019 NCAA rifle national championship

2019 Air Rifle Finals: Championship Recap

TCU took home the 2019 national championship in NC rifle on Saturday with a final score of 4,699. West Virginia came in second, followed by Air Force, Murray State and Kentucky to round out the top 5. 

It is the Horned Frogs' third national title in program history, and first since 2012. You can see the official results and scores here.

The 2019 NCAA rifle championship took place on March 8-9 at the WVU Coliseum on West Virginia’s campus in Morgantown, West Virginia.

All championship events will be available to live stream right here on NCAA.com. Follow along here each day for the latest results, news and highlights from the championships.

    March 8, 9:45 a.m. ET Individual Smallbore | Recap Team Smallbore
    March 9, 10 a.m. ET Final Scores | Recap  

NCAA RIFLE NEWS: Home | Rankings

A total of 48 competitors competed in the championships, with 40 competitors coming from the top eight teams selected. The remaining eight competitors were selected based on the scores submitted from the designated qualifier.  

Team Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position and Air Rifle):
Air Force
Alaska Fairbanks
Army West Point
Murray State
West Virginia

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) were held Friday, March 8, and individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) were Saturday, March 9. The overall team champion was determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution. 

Individual Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position)
Brandon Bryer, Morehead State
Levi Clark, Memphis
Andre Gross, Akron
Mitchell Van Patten, Nevada

Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle)
Rosemary Kramer, Georgia Southern
Alec Patajo, Nevada
Alexa Potts, Morehead State
Hanna Virga, Nebraska

NCAA RIFLE NEWS: Home | Rankings


2019 TCU Karen Monez 4,699 West Virginia 4,692 West Virginia
2018 Kentucky Harry Mullins 4,717 West Virginia 4,708 The Citadel
2017 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,723 TCU 4,706 Ohio State
2016 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,703 TCU 4,694 Akron
2015 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,702 Alaska-Fairbanks 4,700 Alaska-Fairbanks
2014 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,705 Alaska-Fairbanks 4,677 Murray State
2013 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,679 Kentucky 4,670 Ohio State
2012 TCU Karen Monez 4,676 Kentucky 4,661 Ohio State
2011 Kentucky Harry Mullins 4,700 West Virginia 4,697 Columbus State
2010 TCU Karen Monez 4,675 Alaska-Fairbanks 4,653 TCU
2009 West Virginia Jon Hammond 4,643 Kentucky 4,638 TCU
2008 Alaska-Fairbanks Dan Jordan 4,662 Army 4,652 Army
2007 Alaska-Fairbanks Dan Jordan 4,662 Army 4,644 Alaska-Fairbanks
2006 Alaska-Fairbanks Dan Jordan 4,682 Nebraska 4,666 Air Force
2005 Army Ron Wigger 4,659 Jacksonville State 4,658 Nevada
2004 Alaska-Fairbanks Glen Dubis 6,273 Nevada 6,185 Murray State
2003 Alaska-Fairbanks Dave Johnson 6,287 Xavier 6,197 Army
2002 Alaska-Fairbanks Dave Johnson 6,241 Kentucky 6,209 Murray State
2001 Alaska-Fairbanks Dave Johnson 6,283 Kentucky 6,175 Ohio State
2000 Alaska-Fairbanks Randy Pitney 6,285 Xavier 6,156 VMI
1999 Alaska-Fairbanks Randy Pitney 6,276 Navy 6,168 Norwich
1998 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,214 Alaska-Fairbanks 6,211 Murray State
1997 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,223 Kentucky 6,175 Murray State
1996 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,179 Air Force 6,168 Air Force
1995 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,241 Air Force 6,187 Navy
1994 Alaska-Fairbanks Randy Pitney 6,194 West Virginia 6,187 Murray State
1993 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,179 Alaska-Fairbanks 6,169 VMI
1992 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,214 Alaska-Fairbanks 6,166 Murray State
1991 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,171 Alaska-Fairbanks 6,110 Army
1990 West Virginia Marsha Beasley 6,205 Navy 6,101 Navy
1989 West Virginia Edward Etzel 6,234 South Florida 6,180 Murray State
1988 West Virginia Greg Perrine 6,192 Murray State 6,183 VMI
1987 Murray State Elvis Green 6,205 West Virginia 6,203 Xavier
1986 West Virginia Edward Etzel 6,229 Murray State 6,163 Navy
1985 Murray State Elvis Green 6,150 West Virginia 6,149 Army
1984 West Virginia Edward Etzel 6,206 East Tennessee State 6,142 Murray State
1983 West Virginia Edward Etzel 6,166 Tennessee Tech 6,148 Xavier
1982 Tennessee Tech James Newkirk 6,138 West Virginia 6,136 VMI
1981 Tennessee Tech James Newkirk 6,139 West Virginia 6,136 Army
1980 Tennessee Tech James Newkirk 6,201 West Virginia 6,150 East Tennessee State

Alaska Fairbanks wins the 2023 NCAA rifle championship

Alaska Fairbanks won the 2023 NCAA rifle championship after placing ahead of TCU. The title win marks Alaska Fairbanks' 11th title since 1980.

2023 National Collegiate men’s and women’s rifle selections

The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Rifle Committee has announced the teams and individual qualifiers for the 2023 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Rifle Championships.