Feb. 23, 2010


NCAA Release

The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Rifle Committee has announced the team and individual qualifiers for the 2010 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Rifle Championships.

Hosted by Texas Christian University, the championships will be held March 12-13 in Fort Worth, Texas, at the TCU Rifle Range and the Daniel-Meyer Coliseum.

A total of 48 competitors were selected for the championships. The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Team Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position and Air Rifle)
University of Alaska Fairbanks
University of Kentucky
Murray State University
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Texas Christian University
U.S. Military Academy
U.S. Naval Academy
West Virginia University

Individual Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position)
Brian Carstensen, Jacksonville State University
Andrea Dardas, Jacksonville State University
Amanda Furrer, The Ohio State University
Justin Pentz, West Virginia University
Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle)
Nicco Campriani, West Virginia University
Megan English, University of Kentucky
Jonathan Hall, Columbus State University
Keely Stankey, University of Mississippi

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 12. Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 13. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.

For more information about the 2010 rifle championships, log on to www.ncaa.com.