rifle-nc flag

NCAA.com | February 26, 2015

2015 Rifle championship teams and individual qualifiers announced

NC Rifle: 2015 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Rifle Committee has announced the teams and individual qualifiers for the 2015 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Rifle Championships. 

Hosted by the University of Alaska Fairbanks, the championships will be held March 13-14 at E.F. Horton Rifle Range and Patty Center on the Alaska Fairbanks campus in Fairbanks, Alaska.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site.  The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Team Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position and Air Rifle)
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Jacksonville State University
University of Kentucky
Murray State University
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Texas Christian University
U.S. Air Force Academy
West Virginia University

A total of 48 competitors will compete in the championships, with 40 competitors coming from the top eight teams selected.  The remaining eight competitors were selected based on the scores submitted from the designated qualifier. 

Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle)
Emily Capaul, University of Nevada, Reno
Matthew Chezem, University of Akron

Individual Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position)
Max Burkhardt, University of Memphis
Daniel Jonas, U.S. Naval Academy
Remington Lyman, The Ohio State University
Alison Weisz, University of Mississippi

Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle and Smallbore Three-Position)
Drew Cheezum, The Ohio State University
Dacotah Faught, University of Tennessee at Martin

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 13.  Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 14.  The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.