rifle-nc flag

NCAA.com | February 25, 2016

2016 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Rifle Selections

NC Rifle: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Rifle Committee has announced the teams and individual qualifiers for the 2016 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Rifle Championships.

Hosted by the University of Akron, the championships will be held March 11-12 at the Stile Athletics Field House on the Akron campus in Akron, Ohio.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Team Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position and Air Rifle)
University of Alaska Fairbanks
University of Kentucky
Murray State University
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
The Ohio State University
Texas Christian University
U.S. Air Force Academy
West Virginia University

A total of 48 competitors will compete in the championships, with 40 competitors coming from the top eight teams selected. The remaining eight competitors were selected based on the scores submitted from the designated qualifier.

Individual Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position)
Nathan Brewer, U.S. Military Academy
Amy Fister, University of Memphis
Mekenna Richardson, Jacksonville State University

Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle)
Samantha Bullard, Jacksonville State University
Alyssa Gestl, U.S. Military Academy
Lucas Kozeniesky, North Carolina State University
Ali Weisz, University of Mississippi

Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle and Smallbore Three-Position)
Caitlyn Ford, North Carolina State University

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 11, and individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 12. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.

TCU wins 2019 NC Rifle national championship

TCU took home the 2019 national championship in NC Rifle on Saturday. West Virginia came in second, followed by Air Force, Murray State and Kentucky to round out the top 5. 

NCAA rifle championship selections revealed for 2019

The 2019 NC rifle championship selections were announced on Tuesday.

2019 NCAA championships winter selection show schedule

Here is the 2019 NCAA winter championships selection show schedule.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners